Shortlist for this year’s awards announced today


Big name contractors, architects, consultants and projects have made the shortlist for this year’s Building Awards, announced today.

Projects that made the list range from the Bloomberg Building in the heart of London to the Australian Embassy in Jakarta.

Mace, Wates and last year’s winner Graham have been shortlisted for the Major Contractor of the Year, over £300M, category.

A number of firms have multiple nominations this year, including Sir Robert McAlpine, consultant Aecom, and architect HLM. New categories for 2018 are the Building Performance Award and Building’s Good Employer Guide Award.

Other categories include the CEO of the Year award and the Female Leadership Award. The event takes place on 6 November at the Grosvenor House hotel in central London.

The full shortlist is shown below.

To book a table at the event go to

Building Awards 2018 shortlist

Architectural Practice of the Year – sponsored by Comar

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Assael Architecture




Ryder Architecture

Weston Williamson + Partners

White Ink Architects


Building Magazine Project of the Year – sponsored by Schueco

Bristol Business School - ISG

Dudley College Advance II – Dudley College Advance ll Alliance

Gasholders London - WilkinsonEyre and Jonathan Tuckey Design for King’s Cross Central Limited Partnership

Harris Invictus Academy – Scott Brownrigg and Galliford Try

Kensington Aldridge Academy (KAA2) - Portakabin, Mace, ESFA

Rathbone Square - Great Portland Estates and Make Architects

Royal Birmingham Conservatoire - Galliford Try

The Bloomberg Building - Sir Robert McAlpine

The Christie, Proton Beam Therapy Centre – Interserve

White Collar Factory - Allford Hall Monaghan Morris


Building Performance Award – sponsored by ROCKWOOL

Dudley College, Advance ll - Dudley College Advance ll Alliance

Big Data Institute – Make Architects

David Attenborough Building - BuroHappold Engineering

ISTeC Building - Nottingham Trent University

Number One, Kirkstall Forge - CEG & Hoare Lea

The Engine Shed – Max Fordham & Historic Environment Scotland

Urban Science Building, Newcastle University – Turner & Townsend


Building’s Good Employer Guide Award

AA Projects

alinea consulting

Assael Architecture

Berkeley Homes



NG Bailey

Rider Levett Bucknall


Telford Homes


Construction Consultant/Surveyor of the Year (Over 100 staff)


Core Five

Currie & Brown


Malcolm Hollis

Mott MacDonald

Rider Levett Bucknall

Turner & Townsend


Construction Consultant/Surveyor of the Year (fewer than 100 staff)

alinea consulting

BE Design

Business Critical Solutions

KAM Project Consultants

Plan A Consultants

Prosurv Consult

Soben Contract and Commercial

ST1 Group

Synergy Construction and Property Construction and Property Consultants

Whitby Wood


Contractor of the Year (up to £300m)


BW: Workplace Experts


JLES Group



Major Contractor of the Year (over £300M) – sponsored by Fenwick Elliott



Wates Group


Digital & BIM Initiative of the Year


BIM 360° Glue and Field - Mace

BIM Maturity Strategy – Sir Robert McAlpine

Winfield Rock Report – Gowling WLG

Optimise 2 - Mace and Southfacing

ProFinda - Multiplex and ProFinda

Smart Regeneration at Clapham Park - PRP

Vanderbilt Development Management System (VDMS) - Vanderbilt Homes

Virtual Reality TBM - Tideway, FLO JV & Hobs Studio


Engineering Consultant of the Year




Civic Engineers


Davies Maguire

Elementa Consulting

Skelly & Couch

Webb Yates Engineers



Housebuilder of the Year

Avant Homes

Churchill Retirement Living

Miller Homes

Berkeley Group

Redrow Homes


Housing Project of the Year

Hortsley - PegasusLife

House - Urban Splash

Kings Crescent Estate Phases 1&2 - Karakusevic Carson Architects with Henley Halebrown and Muf architecture/art

Moor’s Nook - Coffey Architects

Quadra - PRP

Royal Albert Wharf - Maccreanor Lavington

Signal Townhouses - Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

South Gardens - Maccreanor Lavington

Weston Street – Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Woodside Square - Pollard Thomas Edwards


International Project of the Year – sponsored by Aluprof

Adare Manor - ReardonSmith Architects

Britam Tower - ChapmanBDSP

Early Learning Village, Singapore – Bogle Architects

Msheireb Museums – John McAslan + Partners

Musée d’arts de Nantes – Stanton Williams

Queen Elisabeth Hall – SimpsonHaugh Architects

Shelter for victims of domestic violence - Amos Goldreich Architecture & Jacobs Yaniv Architects

The Australian Embassy, Jakarta – Turner & Townsend


Offsite Project of the Year

Aborfield Green – Crest Nicholson

Apex House – HTA Design

Ashville College Sports Centre – DLG Architects

Highpoint – AKT ll

Holiday Inn Express, Trafford City – Chapman Taylor Architects

Newcastle University Urban Science Building – NG Bailey

Project Capella – Curtins

Riverside Campus – Portakabin

The Import Building – Galliford Try Building

The Quadram Institute – SES Engineering Services


Product / Technical Innovation of the Year

CFRP – Eckersley O’Callaghan

Corefix - Metex Online

Etorch - Imperial Thermal Engineering

East Village, Rising Factory – Mace

SuperFlex20 asphalt – Aggregate Industries


Refurbishment Project of the Year – sponsored by AET Flexible Space

Hackney Town Hall Phase 4 – Osborne

Hoover Building – Interrobang

Lambeth Town Hall - Cartwright Pickard

Piece Hall - Turner & Townsend

Royal Academy of Arts - John Sisk & Son

Television Centre - Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Temperate House, Kew - ISG

The Department Store, Brixton – Stoneforce & Squire & Partners

The Import Building – Studio RHE

The Record Hall - Karakusevic Carson Architects

The Welsh Streets - Placefirst


Small Project of the Year (up to £5m) – sponsored by Clement Windows Group

Artist’s Studio - Harty and Harty

‘Being Brunel’ - Clarkebond

Bishops Wood Court – Daykin Marshall Studio

Floating Homes – Vent-Axia

Hubert Perrodo Building - Design Engine Architects

Huddersfield and Calderdale NHS Financial Trust - Lendlease

Portsoken Pavilion – Make Architects

Victoria Wharf - Child Graddon Lewis


Specialist Contractor of the Year

Billington Structures


Gloster MEP

Lee Marley Brickwork

M. Lambe Construction

Metclad Contracts




SES Engineering Services


Shortlists coming soon..

Female Leadership Award sponsored by AECOM

Construction Client of the Year sponsored by Mott MacDonald


Winners announced on the evening for…

CEO of the Year

Building Magazine Personality of the Year sponsored by Hays