Almost 50 schemes from across the capital recognised 

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios' Alexandra Palace East Wing

Source: Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios’ regeneration of Alexandra Palace’s East Wing. The scheme won the RIBA London Conservation Award 

Almost 50 projects across the capital have received a 2019 RIBA Regional Award.

The 47 schemes that won awards last night include the Bam-built Coal Drops Yard, designed by Heatherwick Studio, Willmott Dixon’s restoration of Alexandra Palace and Costain’s redevelopment of London Bridge station which was named the RIBA London building of the year. More than 80 projects were shortlisted for the awards.

London Bridge Statio_3101_Paul Raftery_PRESSIMAGE_5

Source: Paul Raftery/RIBA Comms

All the winning buildings are in the running for the RIBA National Awards which will be announced on 27 June. The Stirling Prize shortlist is drawn from these winners.

Dian Small, RIBA London director, said: “[The] 2019 winning projects range from a one-bedroom private house which spans the length of two private garages to one of the busiest train stations in the country.

“They also include several significant public sector housing projects, beautifully-designed school extensions, state-of-the-art office buildings and exquisite conservation projects, which breathe new life into some of London’s greatest treasures.”

Alexandra Palace, which was designed by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios, also split the RIBA London Conservation Award with the Painted Hall by Hugh Broughton Architects.

2019 RIBA London Award-winning buildings


168 Upper Street


1A Earl’s Court Square

Sophie Hicks Architects

4 Pancras Square

Eric Parry Architects

Alexandra Palace

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Alleyn’s School Lower School

Tim Ronalds Architects

Alwyne Place

Mitzman Architects

Battersea Arts Centre

Haworth Tompkins

Bethnal Green Mission Church

Gatti Routh Rhodes Architects

Blue Mountain School

6a architects

Boutique Office in Paddington

Edward Williams Architects

Brentford Lock West Phase 2

Mæ and White Ink Architects 

Buckingham Green

Fletcher Priest Architects

Coal Drops Yard

Heatherwick Studio

Crossfield Street House

Jonathan Pile Architect

Eleanor Palmer Science Lab

AY Architects

Great Arthur House

John Robertson Architects

Hackney Wick Station

Landot and Brown

Here East


Highgate Bowl

HASA Architects

House in a Garden

Gianni Botsford Architects Ltd

Kenwood Lee House

Cousins & Cousins Architects

Lambeth Civic Centre and Town Hall

Cartwright Pickard


Niall McLaughlin Architects

Lomax Studio


London Bridge Station


London Wall Place

Make Architects

Mapleton Crescent

Metropolitan Workshop

Max Fordham House



Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners and EPR

Moray Mews

Peter Barber Architects

Music School, King’s College School Wimbledon

Hopkins Architects

Ordnance Road

Peter Barber Architects

Pitzhanger Manor and Gallery

Jestico + Whiles and Julian Harrap Architects

Pocket House

Tikari Works

Royal Opera House Open Up

Stanton Williams

Selfridges Duke Street

David Chipperfield Architects

Signal Townhouses

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

South London Gallery Fire Station

6a architects

Southbank Centre

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Television Centre

AHMM with MacCreanor Lavington, Morris+Company, dRMM, Mikhails Riches, Piercy&Co, Haptic, Archer Humphryes, Coffey Architects

The Bower

Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

The Colville Estate

Karakusevic Carson Architects

The Ned, City of London

EPR Architects, Soho House & Co and Sydell Group LLC

The Painted Hall

Hugh Broughton Architects

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Galleries


Torriano Primary School STEM Lab

Hayhurst and Co.

Westminster Abbey Triforium Project

Ptolemy Dean Architects Ltd

Special Awards have been given to:

Alexandra Palace by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios and The Painted Hall by Hugh Broughton Architects – RIBA London Conservation Award

Battersea Arts Centre by Haworth Tompkins – RIBA London Client of the Year Award

London Bridge Station by Grimshaw – RIBA London Building of the Year Award

Max Fordham House by bere:architects – RIBA London Sustainability Award, sponsored by Michelmersh

Richard Tubb of EPR Architects for The Ned – RIBA London Project Architect of the Year Award, sponsored by Taylor Maxwell

Torriano Primary School STEM Lab by Hayhurst and Co. – RIBA London Small Project Award