There are 12 engineers and architects on the design framework for the stations, tunnels and railway systems

Crossrail has named the 12 engineering and architecture firms that will sit on the design framework for the £17bn London rail scheme.

The 12, made up of two architecture firms and 10 multidisciplinary engineering consultancies, are:

  • Aedas
  • Arup
  • Atkins
  • BDP
  • Capita Symonds
  • Halcrow
  • Hyder
  • Jacobs
  • Mott MacDonald
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Scott Wilson
  • WSP.

The 12 will bid for packages to design stations, tunnels and shafts, and railway systems.

For the stations, each lead designer will employ its own architect to perform detailed design. Many of the architects bidding for work on Crossrail have teamed up with several of the framework companies.

These include architects already working on detailed Crossrail designs such as Hawkins/Brown, Weston Williamson, Wilkinson Eyre and John McAslan.

Dr Graham Plant, programme director at Crossrail, said: “The funding for Crossrail is secure, the necessary agreements have been signed and all partners are committed to delivery. This means that Crossrail can now move full-speed ahead towards the start of the main construction in 2010.”

But one source on the scheme said that this latest framework made progress on the Crossrail project far from clear.

He said: “It’s just another framework at the end of the day. They still haven’t said who’s going to be doing the work for each job. I suppose they’ve got to keep their project managers busy somehow.”

Crossrail is still seeking a programme partner. It has shortlisted three teams for the role: Bechtel; Legacy 3 – a joint venture between Parsons Brinckerhoff, Balfour Beatty Management and Davis Langdon; and Transcend - a joint venture between AECOM, CH2M Hill and Nichols Group.

For the role of project delivery partner, Crossrail has shortlisted Bechtel; Laing O’Rourke; Legacy 3; Flare – a JV between Fluor, Arup and EC Harris; and a JV between Capita Symonds and NNN.

A decision on both of these appointments is expected in early 2009.