Eight sites announced by energy secretary Chris Huhne

The government has announced eight sites for the next generation of nuclear reactors in the UK. Energy secretary Chris Huhne made the announcement as part of the national policy statement (NPS) on energy – due to be debated and voted on in parliament over the coming weeks.

The announcement follows last month’s report from chief inspector Mike Weightman who ruled out the need to curtail the nuclear new build programme in the UK despite the Fukushima disaster in Japan.

Publication of the chosen sites also paves the way for developer EDF to submit a planning application for the proposed nuclear power station at Hinkley in Somerset. An application could not be considered until after the nuclear NPS was published.  

Charles Hendry, minister of state for energy said:

“Around a quarter of the UK’s generating capacity is due to close by the end of this decade. We need to replace this with secure, low carbon, affordable energy. This will require over £100bn worth of investment in electricity generation alone.

“The coalition government is determined to make the UK a truly attractive market for investors, to give us secure, affordable, low-carbon energy.”

The sites chosen for new nuclear power stations by 2025 are as follows:

  • Bradwell, Essex
  • Hartlepool, Co Durham
  • Heysham, Lancashire
  • Hinkley Point, Somerset
  • Oldbury, south Gloucestershire
  • Sellafield, Cumbria
  • Sizewell, Suffolk
  • Wylfa, Isle of Anglesey