Hopkins’ velodrome among the winners at the 2011 RIBA awards

Hopkins Architects led the pack in the 2011 RIBA Awards, with four wins including the London 2012 velodrome - the first Olympic venue to be honoured.

The velodrome was among 97 buildings to win awards in the annual architecture competition.

Bennetts Associates and Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios followed up their success at the Building Awards with wins for the highly-acclaimed Royal Shakespeare Theatre and Chelsea Academy respectively.

Six buildings from the 2011 RIBA Awards will be chosen for the 2011 Stirling Prize shortlist. The prize will then be presented on 1 October in a ceremony at Wilkinson Eyre’s Magna Science and Adventure Centre in Rotherham.


  • Centre for the Scottish War Blinded, Kirknewton, by Page \ Park Architects
  • McManus Galleries, Dundee, by Page \ Park Architects
  • Raasay Community Hall, Raasay, by Dulachas Building Design
  • Scotstoun House, Edinburgh by HAA Design
  • Shettleston Housing Association Offices, Glasgow, by Elder and Cannon
  • Speirs Locks Studios, Glasgow, by Malcolm Fraser Architects
  • Stratheden Mental Health Unit, Fife, by Richard Murphy Architects
  • The Houl, Dumfries & Galloway, by Simon Winstanley Architects
  • Tigh-Na-Cladach (House by the Shore), Dunoon, Gokay Deveci Architect
  • White House, Isle of Coll, by W T Architecture

Northern Ireland

  • An Gaelaras, Derry, by O’Donnell + Tuomey
  • Carnathen Lane (private house), Donaghadee, by Twenty Two Over Seven

North East

  • 55/02, Kielder, by University College London
  • Knop Law Primary School, Newcastle upon Tyne, by Architects Design Partnership
  • Millfield House Visitors’ Centre, Newcastle upon Tyne, by Mosedale Gillatt Architects Ltd
  • Pasmore Apollo Pavilion, Durham, by Burns Architects

North West

  • Heating Infrastructure Project, Liverpool, by Levitt Bernstein
  • Lawson Park, Cumbria, by Sutherland Hussey Architects
  • Love Shack, Cumbria, by Sutherland Hussey Architects
  • Sir Charles Carter Building, Lancaster, by John McAslan + Partners
  • Trafford College Learning Resource Centre, Altrincham, by Stephenson Bell Architects


  • Granary Wharf Scheme, York, by Carey Jones Chapmantolcher
  • Heslington East Masterplan - York University, York, by BDP
  • Sandal Magna Community Primary School, Wakefield, by Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
  • Sharrow Point, Cemetery Road, Sheffield, by Project Orange


  • Blue Door, Monmouthshire, by Hall & Bednarczyk Architects
  • Mostyn Gallery, Llandudno, by Ellis Williams Architects
  • Ty-Hedfan, Brecon, Powys, by Featherstone Young
  • UWIC School of Management, Cardiff, Cardiff, by Austin-Smith:Lord
  • University of Glamorgan Student’s Union, Pontypridd, by Rio Architects
  • University of Wales, Newport - City Campus, Newport, by BDP
  • WISE Building, Machynlleth, by David Lea and Pat Borer Architects

West Midlands

  • Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Stratford Upon Avon, by Bennetts Associates
  • Teenage Cancer Trust, BCH Birmingham, by Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands

East Midlands

  • Creswell Crags Museum and Education Centre, Worksop, by OMI Architects
  • Meat Factory (private house), Nottingham, by Marsh & Grochowski
  • Newton and Arkwright Building, Nottingham Trent University, Nottingham, by Hopkins Architects Partnership
  • Woodland Trust Headquarters, Grantham, by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios


  • Apex, Arc, Bury St Edmunds, Bury, St Edmunds by Hopkins Architects
  • Balancing Barn, Suffolk by MVDRV
  • Bavent House, Reydon by Hudson Architects
  • Centre for Competitive Creative Design, Bedfordshire by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • Marshland Discovery Zone, Purfleet by Peter Beard_LANDROOM
  • Private Housing at Newhall, Essex by Richard Murphy Architects & Roger Evans Associates
  • Reception Hide Complex, Titchwell, by Haysom Ward Miller Architects
  • UK Centre for Carnival Arts, Luton, by Ash Sakula Architects

South West

  • Bideford College, Bideford, by NPS South West
  • Brown’s Dental Practice, Ivybridge, by David Sheppard Architects
  • West Buckland School, Barnstable, by Rundell Associates


  • Bourne Hill Offices, Salisbury, by Stanton Williams
  • CircleBath Hospital, Bath, by Fosters and Partners
  • Maggie’s Cheltenham, Cheltenham, by MJP Architects
  • Parabola Arts Centre, Cheltenham Ladies’ College, Cheltenham, by Foster Wilson Architects


  • Kendrew Quadrangle, Oxford, by MJP Architects
  • Life Science Building, Southampton by NBBJ
  • Rothschild Foundation, Bucks, by Stephen Marshall Architects
  • Watson House, Boldre by John Pardey Architects


  • Dover Esplanade, Dover, by Tonkin Liu
  • Epsom House, Surrey by Eldridge Smerin
  • New Mission Hall, West Sussex by Adam Richards Architects
  • No. 1 Smithery, Chatham by van Heynigen and Haward
  • Sevenoaks School Performing Arts Centre, Sevenoaks by Tim Ronalds Architects
  • Shingle House, Kent by NORD Architecture


  • Angel Building, London N1 by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Barking Centra, Barking by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Bear Lane, London SE1 by Panter Hudspith
  • Chelsea Academy, London SW10 by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Chiswick House Cafe, London W4 by Caruso St John Architects
  • City of Westminster College, London W2 by schmidt hammer lassen architects
  • Claredale Street, London E2 by Karakusevic Carson Architects
  • Evelyn Grace Academy, London SE24 by Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Fitzroy Street and Maple Place, London W1 by Duggan Morris Architects
  • H10 Hotel, London SE1 by Maccreanor Lavington
  • Hackney Service Centre, London E8 by Hopkins Architects
  • Hampstead Lane, London N6 by Duggan Morris Architects
  • Hoxton House, London N, by David Mikhail
  • Kilburn Grange Park Adventure Playcentre, London NW6, by erect architecture
  • Leighton House Museum, London W14, by Purcell Miller Tritton
  • Michael Faraday Community School, London, by Alsop Sparch
  • New Herbarium Library, Art and Archives Wing, Kew, by Edward Cullinan Architects
  • One New Change, London, by Ateliers Jean Nouvel with Sidell Gibson Architects
  • Raven Row, London E1, by 6a Architects
  • Ravensbourne, London SE10, by Foreign Office Architects
  • St. Patricks School Library and Music Room, London NW5, by Coffey Architects
  • Shadow House, London NW1, by Liddicoat and Goldhill
  • Stoke Newington School and Sixth Form : Media Arts and Science College, London N16, by Jestico + Whiles
  • Strange House, London SE8, by Hugh Strange Architect
  • Town Hall Hotel & Apartments, London E2, by Rare Architecture
  • Velodrome, Stratford, by Hopkins Architects

The eight RIBA Award buildings in the European Union are:

  • KaufhausTyrol, Innsruck, Austria, by David Chipperfield
  • Harbour Island Apartments, Copenhagen, Denmark, by Lundgaard & Tranberg
  • Middelfart Savings Bank, Middelfart, Denmark, by 3XN
  • SEB HQ Copenhagen, Denmark, by Lundgaard & Tranberg
  • Museum Folkwang Essen, Germany, by David Chipperfield
  • Aviva Stadium Dublin, Ireland, by Populous/Scott Tallon Walker
  • De Prinsendam Amsterdam, Netherlands, by Tony Fretton
  • Faustino Winery Ribero del Duero, Spain, by Foster + Partners
  • Aviva Stadium, Dublin, Ireland, designed by Populous/Scott Tallon Walker.