Sixty-four of the construction industry's leading companies were this week shortlisted for the eighth annual Building Awards.
The awards, now the biggest event in the industry's calendar, will be presented at London's Grosvenor House Hotel in front of a 1600-strong audience on 24 April.

The following firms have been shortlisted. They are given in alphabetical order.

  • Major contractor, sponsored by Trus Joist Sprl: Bovis Lend Lease, Carillion Building, Interserve, Kier Group and Mansell.

  • Contractor, sponsored by Kingspan Building Products: Countryside in Partnership, Galliford Midlands, Leadbitter Construction and Pearce Retail Services.

  • Regional contractor: Crispin & Borst, D Campbell & Company, Dyer & Butler, Mount Anvil Construction and Russell Construction.

  • Specialist subcontractor, sponsored by Billington Structures, Hills Electrical & Mechanical, Powerminster, Shepherd Engineering Services and Wilson James.

  • Architectural practice: Allies & Morrison, Chetwood Associates, John McAslan & Partners, Pollard Thomas & Edwards and Wilkinson Eyre Architects.

  • Young architectural practice, sponsored by Lafarge: Cartwright Pickard Architects, David Morley Architects, Hugh Broughton Architects, McFarlane Latter and Weston Williamson.

  • Surveying practice, sponsored by Hays Montrose: Cyril Sweett & Partners, Davis Langdon & Everest, Faithful & Gould, Franklin & Andrews and KHK Group.

  • Multidisciplinary practice, sponsored by Marshalls: Amec, Arup, Oscar Faber, Whitby Bird & Partners and WSP Group.

  • Project/Construction manager: Bovis Lend Lease, Citex, Heery International and Mace.

  • Major housebuilder, sponsored by Marley: Barratt Developments, David Wilson Homes, Miller Homes and Westbury Homes.

  • Housebuilder, sponsored by Wavin: Countryside Properties, Henry Boot Homes, Laing Homes and McCarthy & Stone (Developments).

  • Regional housebuilder, sponsored by British Gypsum: Bellwinch Homes, Copthorn Homes, Hopkins Homes and Manor Kingdom.

  • E-construction strategy, sponsored by Rockwool: Architectural 3D, Balfour Beatty, East Thames Housing Group, Laing Homes and Simons Construction.

  • Sustainability, sponsored by Blue Circle: Carillion, Laing Homes, Peabody Trust and St George.

    Shortlists for the construction client and best practice categories, sponsored by Schuco International and the Construction Best Practice Programme respectively, will be announced later. The personality of the year will be announced at the awards dinner.