David Chipperfield, Zaha Hadid and Foster + Partner amongst winners to be put forward for the Stirling Prize shortlist

The Royal Institute of British Architects has announced the 2008 national, European and international winners for architectural excellence.

David Chipperfield Architects picked up prizes for the BBC building in Glasgow, and two schemes in Germany.

Other winners included star architect Zaha Hadid for the Nord Park Cable Railway scheme in Austria and BMW’s Munich showroom designed by Austrian practice Coop Himmelb(l)au who also picked up a prize for the design of the Akron Art Museum in Ohio.

The Lubetkin Prize for the best building outside the EU by an RIBA member went to Casa Kike, a private house in Cahuita, Costa Rica designed by Gianni Botsford Architects .

Coin Street Community Builders won the client of the year for commissioning projects that include this year’s award winning Coin Street Neighbourhood Centre and other schemes such as the Oxo Tower.

Small multi-disciplinary firms such as John Pawson and the Heatherwick Studio were also recognised by the RIBA.

Sunand Prasad, RIBA president, said: "RIBA awards are only made to buildings that really work for their users.

"They are a studied response by architect and lay judges not only to the submitted material but most importantly to tours of buildings conducted by the clients and architects of the schemes."

The Stirling Prize shortlist will be drawn these winners, and will be announced on 17 July.

RIBA national award winners

1. Accordia, Cambridge by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios/Alison Brooks Architects/Macreanor Lavington
2. Adelaide Wharf, Hackney, London by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
3. BBC Scotland at Pacific Quay, Glasgow by David Chipperfield Architects
4. East Beach Cafe, Little Hampton, West Sussex by Heatherwick Studio
5. Hilton Tower, Manchester by Ian Simpson Architects
6. Lawn Tennis Association's National Tennis Centre, Roehampton, London by Hopkins Architects
7. Manchester Civil Justice Centre, Manchester by Denton Corker Marshall
8. North Wall Arts Centre, St Edward's School, Oxford by Haworth Tomkins
9. Pier Arts Centre, Stromness, Orkney by Reiach and Hall Architects
10. Royal Festival Hall, London by Allies and Morrison
11. St Marylebone Church of England School Performing Arts Facility, London, by Gumuchdjian Architects
12. Terminal 5, Heathrow Airport, by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
13. The Belgrade Theatre, Coventry by Stanton Williams
14. The Sackler Crossing, Kew, Surrey, by John Pawson
15. Wembley National Stadium,London, Foster + Partners/HOK Sport
16. Westminster Academy at the Naim Dangoor Centre, London, Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

RIBA European award winners

1. Am Kupfergraben 10, Berlin, Germany by David Chipperfield Architects
2. Amsterdam Bijlmer Arena Station, Amsterdam, Netherlands by Grimshaw/ARCADIS Architecten
3. BMW Welt event, exhibition and delivery centre, Munich, Germany by Coop Himmelb(l)au, Wolf D Prix, W. Dreibholz & Partner ZT GmbH
4. Carabanchel Social Housing, Madrid, Spain by Foreign Office Architects
5. Empire Riverside Hotel & Brauhaus, Hamburg, Germany by David Chipperfield Architects
6. Lufthansa Aviation Centre Frankfurt, Germany by Ingenhoven Architects
7. Nord Park Cable Railway, Austria by Zaha Hadid Architects
8. The Royal Playhouse, Copenhagen, Denmark by Lundgaard & Tranberg Arkitektfirma
9. The Sleeping Giant, Dublin, Ireland by O'Donnell + Tuomey Architects
10. University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland by Wilkinson Eyre Architects

RIBA international award winner

1. Gardiner Museum of Ceramic Art, Toronto, Canada by Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects
2. Casa Kike, Cahuita, Costa Rica by Gianni Botsford Architects
3. New British High Commission, Kampala, Uganda by Callum and Nightingale Architects
4. Akron Art Museum, Ohio, US by Coop Himmelb(l)au
5. Museum of Contemporary Art, Denver, US by Adjaye Associates.