Public art buildings feature heavily in list of 50 winners

Fifty UK buildings have scooped awards at the annual Royal Institute of British Architects awards.

Among the winners were a glut of public arts buildings including Bath’s Holburne Museum, designed by Eric Parry Architects and the Hepworth Wakefield gallery, designed by David Chipperfield Architects.

RIBA President Angela Brady said: “What really stands out is that even in times of austerity, we can still deliver amazingly clever, high quality buildings that reflect the needs of today and enhance our daily lives.  The judges were delighted to see so many well considered, crafted and innovative projects, and the use of beautiful materials; these projects are truly exciting and inspiring.”

A further nine buildings from across the EU also won awards.

One building from the list of winners will be awarded the RIBA Stirling prize in October this year.

The complete list of winners is:


National Museum of Scotland             Edinburgh                   Gareth Hoskins Architects

Bogbain Mill                                      Maryburgh                  Rural Design

Dundee Council Civic                         Dundee                       Reiach and Hall Architects

Office, Dundee

Maggie’s Gartnavel                            Glasgow                     OMA

Scottish National Portrait                   Edinburgh                   Page/Park Architects


Northern Ireland

Glenariffe House                                Glens of Antrim          McGarry-Moon Architects

Lyric Theatre                                     Belfast                      O’Donnell + Tuomey

Public Records Office of                     Belfast                       Todd Architects

Northern Ireland

Rear Extension to 109                        Belfast                      ard (ciaran mackel) Architects

Osborne Park

North East

Roseberry Park                                  Middlesbrough             Medical Architecture

Toffee Factory                                    Newcastle upon Tyne  xsite architecture

North West

Brockholes Visitor Centre                   Lancashire                   Adam Khan Architects

Festival House                                   Blackpool                    dRMM Architects

North House                                      Bowden                       Roger Stephenson Architects


Kirk Balk Community                         Barnsley                     Allford Hall Monaghan Morris


Saxton                                             Leeds                          Union North

The Hepworth Wakefield                    Wakefield                    David Chipperfield Architects


Maggie’s South West Wales                Swansea                    Kisho Kurokawa Architect & Associates with Garber & James

Royal Welsh College of                       Cardiff                         BFLS

Music & Drama

West Midlands

BFI Master Film Store                         Warwickshire              Edward Cullinan Architects

East Midlands

Caistor Arts & Heritage                       Lincolnshire                Jonathan Hendry Architects


Easton Neston Estate                       Northamptonshire        Ptolemy Dean Architects

Loughborough Design School             Loughborough              Burwell Deakins Architects


Brentwood School Sixth Form            Essex                         Cottrell & Vermeulen Architecture

Centre & Assembly Hall                                                         

Royal Veterinary College                    Hatfield                       Hawkins\Brown

Student Village

The Dune House                                Suffolk                         Jarmund Vigsnaes Architects & Mole Architects

The Sainsbury Laboratory,                  Cambridge                   Stanton Williams

University of Cambridge

South West and Wessex

Private House                                    Gloucestershire            Found Associates

The Dyson Centre for                         Bath                             Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Neonatal Care                                                            

The Holburne Museum                       Bath                            Eric Parry Architects

The Triangle                                      Swindon                      Glenn Howells Architects


Garsington Opera Pavilion                  High Wycombe            Snell Associates

The Shulman Auditorium                    Oxford                         Berman Guedes Stretton

Student Accommodation,                   Oxford                         Niall McLaughlin Architects

Somerville College

South East

McLaren Production Centre                Surrey                          Foster + Partners

Turner Contemporary                          Kent                            David Chipperfield Architects


14 St George Street and                     London W1S               Eric Parry Architects

50 New Bond Street

Exhibition Road                                 London SW7               Dixon Jones

Dalling Road                                      London                      Hayhurst and Co. in collaboration with Lucy Carmichael

Peabody Avenue, Pimlico                   London SW1V            Haworth Tompkins

The St. Paul’s Centre at                     London W6                 Richard Griffiths Architects

St. Paul’s Church,


The Hurlingham Club,                         London SW6               David Morley Architects

Outdoor Pool

Kings Grove                                      London SE15              Duggan Morris Architects

White Cube, Bermondsey                  London SE1                Casper Mueller Kneer Architects

Hackney Marshes Centre                   London E9                  Stanton Williams

London Olympic Stadium                   London E20                POPULOUS

New Court                                         London EC4N            OMA with Allies and Morrison

St. Pancras Chambers                       London NW1              RHWL Architects with Richard Griffiths Architects

Henrietta Barnett School                    London NW11            Hopkins Architects

University of the Arts London             London N1C               Stanton Williams

Campus, Central Saint Martins

at King’s Cross. Phase 1:

Granary Complex

European Union

PJ Carroll’s Factory                            Dundalk, Ireland         scott tallon walker architects

Wexford County Council                     Wexford, Ireland          Robin Lee Architecture


Solid 11                                             Amsterdam                 Tony Fretton Architects


Las Arenas                                        Barcelona, Spain          Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Bilbao Arena                                      Bilbao, Spain               Idom UK

H27D                                                Constance, Germany    Kraus Schoenberg Architects

maison L                                           Yvelines, France          architecturespossibles

Centre Pompidou – Metz                    Metz, France                Shigeru Ban and Jean de Gastine Architectes with Gumuchdjian Architects

FCN 2009                                          Portelle, Italy               M Guiseppina Grasso Cannizzo