Zones named include areas of Preston, Stoke, Derby and York

Planning Houses

The government has named the 20 new housing zones mentioned by chancellor George Osborne in yesterday’s Budget.

The new zones include areas of Preston, Stoke, Derby and York.

Housing zones have access to cheaper borrowing via the Public Works Loan Board and get priority access to planning and technical support from the HCA.

The housing zones were part of a wider package of announcements in yesterday’s Budget designed to boost the sector.

Full list of new housing zones

Thurrock Thames-Side Towns (Thurrock Council)
Elstree Way Corridor (Hertsmere Borough Council)
Slyfield Area Regeneration Project (Guildford Borough Council)
Greater Gainsborough Housing Zone (West Lindsey District Council)
Stoke City Centre Renaissance (Stoke City Council)
Derby City Housing Zone (Derby City Council)
Gedling Colliery (Gedling Borough Council)
Harworth, North Nottinghamshire (Bassetlaw District Council)
Aire River Growth Corridor (Wakefield Metropolitan District Council)
York Central Housing Zone (City of York Council)
Exemplar Neighbourhood (Gateshead Council)
Preston Housing Zone (Preston City Council)
South Bristol HZ (Bristol City Council)
Whitehill and Bordon (East Hampshire District Council)
Weston Super Mare (North Somerset Council)
Ashchurch (Tewkesbury Borough Council)
Hinkley Housing Zone (Sedgemoor District Council)
Former Powerstation Site, Poole (Borough of Poole Council)
Foxhill (Bath and North East Somerset Council)
Gloucester City Growth Zone (Gloucester City Council)