Twenty-three of the best urban projects over the last two years have been shortlisted for the Civic Trust Special Awards 2002.
The winner of each category will be announced at the Civic Trust Awards ceremony at the Royal College of Physicians, London NW1, Thursday 18 April 2002. The shortlist is as follows.

Exterior Lighting Award:

  • Gateshead Millennium Bridge (Wilkinson Eyre Architects)
  • Edinburgh's Point Conference Centre (Andrew Doolan Architects)
  • Glasgow's Cranhill Water Tower illumination (Chris Stewart Architects)
  • Kingston-upon-Hull's ARCO National Distribution Centre (The Dewson Partnership).

Partnership Award for the best public-private partnership:

  • Lady Florence Centre, Lewisham, London (Knight Phillips Architects)
  • Tooting and South Thames College (Aukett Europe)
  • New River Loop Restoration Project (London Borough of Enfield)
  • Snow Hill Project, Wolverhampton (Eric Hudson Architects).

Centre Vision Award for improvement to a city centre:

  • Castleford, Manchester (Manchester City Council)
  • Huddersfield Narrow Canal, Tameside (Tameside Metropolitan Borough)
  • Mailbox, Birmingham (Associated Architects).

Urban Design Award for local environment contribution:

  • @Bristol (Alec French and Acanthus Ferguson Mann)
  • Somerset House, London (Donald Insall Associates/Jeremy Dixon.Edward Jones)
  • The Lowry Centre, Salford (Michael Wilford & Partners)

Landscape Award:

  • The riverside walkways and parks in Greenwich (Richard Rogers Partnership)
  • Thames Barrier Park, Newham, London (Patel Taylor).

Access Award for disabled access to a historic building:

  • National Portrait Gallery, Westminster, London (Dixon Jones)
  • Royal Court Theatre, Chelsea, London (Haworth Tompkins)

Sustainability Award:

  • 9-10 Stock Orchard Street, Islington, London (Sarah Wigglesworth Architects)
  • Conference building, Earth Centre, Doncaster (Bill Dunster Architects)
  • Jubilee Campus, University of Nottingham (Michael Hopkins and Partners)
  • Portcullis House/Westminster Underground station, London (Michael Hopkins)
  • Tramlink (Tramlink Croydon).