Welcome to building.co.uk. This site uses cookies. Read our policy.

Who does what?
Government bodyResponsibilitiesSecretary of state
DTIConstruction, M&E services, engineering, dispute resolution, sponsorship of nCRISP, Constructionline and CIPERPatricia Hewitt
ODPMBuilding regulation and control, surveying, structural engineering, housing, plumbing, planning, regeneration, local government, sustainable communities, architects’ registrationJohn Prescott
DEFRASustainability, waste and recycling, landscapeMargaret Beckett
HM Treasury/OGCProcurementGordon Brown
DCMSArchitecture (but not registration), sponsorship of CabeTessa Jowell
DfESSkills and training, sponsorship of sector, skills councilsCharles Clarke
DWPSponsorship of Health and Safety ExecutiveAlan Johnson
TransportCivil engineering, highways and transportationAlistair Darling