Two-thirds of 100 finalists in NLA competition are architects

Nearly two-thirds of the 100 finalists in a major ideas competition set up to tackle the housing crisis are architects.

They include Rogers Stirk Harbour, Farrells, Feilden Clegg Bradley, dRMM, Stitch, Levitt Bernstein, Bell Phillips, Mae, Denizen, Adams & Collingwood, Waugh Thistleton, Baca and the Manser Practice.

The New Ideas for Housing competition, run by New London Architecture, attracted 200 entries from 16 countries.

Well over half of the finalists were architects, with others including developers, planners, modular housing companies and estate agents. Several were shortisted twice (see box, below).

The 100 shortlisted ideas will go on display at the Building Centre next month, when 10 winners will be picked by a jury featuring Alison Brooks – who won BD’s 2012 Architect of the Year Award for her housing projects – Bob Kerslake, chair of the London Housing Commission, and the capital’s deputy mayor for housing, Richard Blakeway.

The shortlisted ideas (see attached Word document) range from a whole new city beside the M25 to houses built over minor roads, on top of post-war housing estates and above civic buildings such as libraries and hospitals. Self-built communities, floating homes and pre-fabrication methods also featured in the successful entries.

The redevelopment of London’s suburbs was a strong theme with Alastair Parvin of Architecture 00 and Cass Cities tutor Adam Towle working with the WikiHouse Foundation to propose the “right to replace”. This would enable suburban homeowners to demolish their properties to make way for dream homes – but only if they use half the space, freeing up land for extra houses.

More information on the competition can be accessed here.


Shortlisted architects

Barbara Weiss Architects and Allies & Morrison (x2)

Urbem, Elemental, Carlo Ratti and Triptyque

Bell Phillips Architects

Adams & Collingwood Architects

Stride Treglown

Akira Yamanaka Architect

Denizen Works

Patrick JA Massey, CZWG Architects

RoeWu architecture

A-ZERO architects

Julia Park, Levitt Bernstein

The Manser Practice

AWP office for territorial reconfiguration, with Rowan Moore

Natasha Reid Design


Paolo Vimercati, Grimshaw

MOCT Studio

Projects Office

Guy Rochez

TP Bennett

Pierre d’Avoine Architects

Hal Currey, Hal Architects

David Morley Architects

Alastair Parvin and Adam Towle in partnership with WikiHouse Foundation

Pollard Thomas Edwards

HTA Design (x2)

Richard Lavington, Maccreanor Lavington


Benjamin Marks

John Burrell, Burrell Foley Fischer


Farrells & Buro Happold

Coffey Architects

Baca Architects (x2)


dRMM (x2)

Child Graddon Lewis

David Kroll

Studio SE5

Teatum & Teatum

Rock Townsend

Phase3 Architecture and Design

Geraghty Taylor Architects

USE Architects

LWPAC – Lang Wilson Practice in Architecture Culture

Mobile Studio Architects


Openstudio Architects

Chapman Taylor

Waugh Thistleton Architects

Ben Adams Architects

Levitt Bernstein

Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Cullinan Studio

Edgley Design

Pitman Tozer

Sheppard Robson

Lipton Plant



Henley Halebrown Rorrison Architects

Ryder Architecture

David Morley Architects