Denizen Works claims top award, while Maich Swift crowned Young Architect of the Year

The winners of the Architect of the Year Awards 2022 have been revealed. 

At a ceremony held at The Brewery London, hosted by sister title Building Design, last night 14 practices shared out 16 awards, with Denizen Works claiming the coveted Gold Award - the award for the ‘best of the best’ selected from the winners of the other categories.

AYA Logo 22

Maich Swift won the prestigous Young Architect of the Year Awards, which recognises practices where the majority of principals have been practicing for 12 years or less. Freehaus was recognised with a highly commended mention in the same category.

Hosted by comedian Tom Allen, the evening saw the best of the architecture sector gather to celebrate the winners.

Other practices to claim awards included HTA Design, Purcell, FaulknerBrowns Architects and Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios.

Chair of the judging panel, BD strategy director Thomas Lane, said: “The strength of this year’s entries is testament to how well the profession is holding up in the face of multiple challenges, both at home and overseas.

"We’ve been receiving so many entries for the housing category that we decided to split this into private and public housing this year to reflect this strength and enable us to recognise the great work architects are doing for both public and private sector housing clients.

“And the refurbishment category was particularly hotly contested which is good to see as reusing decent existing buildings needs to become the norm rather than an exception. And there was much more focus on sustainability in this year’s entries than previously, a trend which is celebrated specifically with the Net Zero Architect of the Year award."

View all the winners in the list below.

Architect of the Year 2022 winners

Higher Education Architect of the Year - Haworth Tompkins

Interior Architect of the Year - Sponsored by Zentia - ConForm

Office Architect of the Year - Glenn Howells     -     Highly commended: Henley Halebrown

Public Building Architect of the Year - Citizen Design Bureau

Private Housing Architect of the Year - Sergison Bates

Social Value Architect of the Year - RCKa

Young Architect of the Year - Maich Swift    -    Highly commended: Freehaus

Net Zero Architect of the Year - HTA Design

Public and Social Housing Architect of the Year - Mae Architects

Refurbishment Architect of the Year - Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Education (nursery to 6th) Architect of the Year - Hayhurst & Co

Employer Architect of the Year - Purcell

Small Project Architect of the Year - Denizen Works

Individual House Architect of the Year  - Denizen Works    -    Highly commended: Hayhurst & Co

Retail & Leisure Architect of the Year - FaulknerBrowns Architects

Gold Award - Denizen Works