Stuart Doughty, chief executive of Costain Group, was among the construction industry figures on the New Year’s honours list

Doughty was awarded a Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George for his services to international trade and investment.

Doughty said that the award of the CMG was a great honour, noting:

“It reflects on how the industry and the government are working in a harmonious way.”

The roll of honour also included Keith Miller, chief executive of Miller Group; Dr John Cornish, formerly head of Building Control Division, Development Department at the Scottish Executive, and Paul Everall, head of building division, ODPM. They all were made Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE).

John Marshall, consultant at Marshall Construction, was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE). Richard Mason, head of the building projects group at the council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils was made a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE).

Architect Leslie Fairweather, who has worked for the HM Prison Service, was made an OBE and Leeds City Council architect John Thorp, was made an MBE.

Regeneration and housing expertise was well rewarded. The following were made OBEs: Sarindar Sahota, chair of North West Corridors of Regeneration; Ralph Luck, director of English Partnerships; Christopher Stendall, from the regeneration sponsorship division, ODPM; Guy Reid-Bailey, chair of United Housing Association and Sadru Visram, chair of ASRA Greater London Housing Association. An MBE was awarded to Robert Hepworth, urban regeneration director of St Helens council.

Anu Kiran Vedi, group chief executive of Genesis Housing Group and Donald Wood, chief executive of London and Quadrant Housing Trust, were made CBEs.