Shortlist of six teams for $9.5m museum includes David Adjaye and Daniel Libeskind

Images of the shortlisted architects’ proposals for the Canadian Holocaust Museum have been unveiled.

The six teams include one featuring David Adjaye and Ron Arad working with the art historian Irene Szylinger and another with Daniel Libeskind led by museum planner Gail Lord.

The $9.5 million museum will be built on an empty plot opposite the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa.

The shortlisted teams


    Hossein Amanat (architect and urban designer)

    Esther Shalev-Gerz (artist)

    Daniel Roehr (landscape architect)

    Robert Kleyn (architect, project manager)

    David Lieberman (architect)

    – Vancouver, British Columbia


    Leslie M Klein (Quadrangle Architects)

    Jeffrey Craft (SWA Group)

    Alan Schwartz (Terraplan)

    Yael Bartana (artist)

    Susan Philipsz (artist)

    Chen Tamir (artist)

    Debórah Dwork and Jeffrey Koerber (Holocaust scholars)

    – Toronto, Ontario


    Gail Lord (museum planner)

    Daniel Libeskind (architect)

    Edward Burtynsky (artist)

    Claude Cormier (landscape architect)

    Doris Berger (Holocaust scholar)

    – Toronto, Ontario


    Gilles Saucier (architect, Saucier+Perrotte)

    Marie-France Brière (artist)

    – Montréal, Quebec

    Irene Szylinger (art historian and curator)

    David Adjaye (architect)

    Ron Arad (artist/architect)

    – Toronto, Ontario


    Krzysztof Wodiczko (artist)

    Julian Bonder (architect)

    – Cambridge, Massachusetts


This story first appeared on Building Design