Winner picked from star-studded shortlist this summer

The 10 shortlisted designs for a National Holocaust Memorial have been unveiled.

Studio Libeskind, Zaha Hadid Architects, Adjaye Associates and recent Stirling Prize winner Caruso St John are among those firms to be shortlisted for the scheme which will be built next to Parliament.

The practices, which are joined by Foster & Partners, Allied Works, John McAslan & Partners, Lahdelma & Mahlamäki Architects, Heneghan Peng Architects and Canadian practice Diamond Schmitt Architects, have teamed up with a variety of top name designers and artists. For instance, Zaha Hadid Achitects has teamed up with Anish Kapoor.

Submissions will be judged by a jury including London mayor Sadiq Khan and communities secretary Sajid Javid. Competition organiser Malcolm Reading will advise the jury.

Interviews will begin this spring with a winner due to be named this summer.

The international design contest was announced by prime minister Theresa May last September and attracted almost 100 entries from 26 countries.

An exhibition of the designs will be held in central London as well as other locations around the UK.

The government has pledged £50m towards the cost of the scheme.

Other jury members include former Serpentine Galleries director Julia Peyton-Jones, Stanton Williams director Paul Williams and the UK’s chief rabbi Ephraim Mirvis.


Full National Holocaust Memorial shortlist


Adjaye Associates and Ron Arad Architects (UK) with Gustafson Porter + Bowman, Plan A and DHA Designs

Allied Works (US) with Robert Montgomery, The Olin Studio, Ralph Appelbaum Associates,

Allied Info Works, Arup, Curl la Tourelle Head Architecture, PFB Construction Management

Services Ltd, BuroHappold and Nathaniel Lichfield & Partners

Anish Kapoor and Zaha Hadid Architects (UK) with Sophie Walker Studio, Arup Lighting,

Event London, Lord Cultural Resources, Max Fordham, Michael Hadi Associates, Gardiner &

Theobald, Whybrow, Access=Design and Goddard Consulting

Caruso St John Architects (UK), Marcus Taylor and Rachel Whiteread with Vogt Landscape

Architects, Arup Lighting and David Bonnett Associates

Diamond Schmitt Architects (CA) with Ralph Appelbaum Associates, Martha Schwartz

Partners and Arup

Foster & Partners (UK) and Michal Rovner with Simon Schama, Avner Shalev, Local Projects,

Samantha Heywood, David Bonnett Associates, Tillotson Design Associates and Whybrow

Heneghan Peng Architects (IE) with Gustafson Porter + Bowman, Event, Sven Anderson,

Bartenbach, Arup, Bruce Mau Design, BuroHappold, Mamou-Mani, Turner & Townsend, PFB,

Andrew Ingham & Associates and LMNB

John McAslan & Partners (UK) and MASS Design Group with Lily Jencks Studio, Local Projects

and Arup

Lahdelma & Mahlamäki Architects (FI) and David Morley Architects with Ralph Appelbaum

Associates, Hemgård Landscape Design, Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, Dani Karavan and Arup

Studio Libeskind (US) and Haptic Architects with Martha Schwartz Partners, BuroHappold,

Lord Cultural Resources, Alan Baxter, Garbers & James and James E. Young