Over 50 firms are shortlisted for Building’s first Sustainable Designer of the Year.

More than 50 firms have been shortlisted for Building’s first ever Sustainability Awards, to be held on 2 November 2005 at the London Hilton hotel in Park Lane. BDA ZedFactory, Building Design Partnership, HLM Architects, HLM-4D, Sheppard Robson and Upton McGougan have all been shortlisted in the Sustainable Designer of the Year category. BAA, DWP Estates Core Team, the Eden Project and the Renewable Systems Group are all nominated for Sustainable Client of the Year.

If you want to book a table at the gala awards dinner, contact Jen Clarke on 020-7560 4099 or email at lbond@cmpinformation.com.

The shortlist contains the following:

Sustainable Housebuilder of the Year
Countryside Properties
Midas Homes
St George
Urban Splash
Willmott Dixon

Sustainable Contractor of the Year
Bovis Lend Lease
Carillion Building
Vector Special Projects

Sustainable Designer of the Year
BDA ZedFactory
HLM Architects
Sheppard Robson
Upton McGougan

Sustainable Client of the Year
BAA plc
DWP Estates Core Team
Eden Project
Renewable Energy Systems Group (RES)

Best Corporate Social Responsibility Report
Balfour Beatty
Barratt Developments
Countryside Properties
Taylor Woodrow

Responsible Employer of the Year
Baily Garner
Countryside Properties

Sustainability Innovation Award
Alma Verde Village and Spa
Balfour Beatty
Cobiax Technologies
Solar Century
Water Works UK

Sustainable Building of the Year (small project)
Arup, The Hub
Associated Architects, Cobtun House
Ecology Building Society, Ecology Building Society HQ
Nick Coombe + Shona Kitchen, Minotaur
Studio E Architects, Beaufort Court zero emissions building

Sustainable Building of the Year (large project)
Capita Percy Thomas, OpTIC Technium St Asaph
Chetwood Associates, Marsh Leys project
Keith Williams Architects, Athlone Civic Centre
Sheppard Robson, CEME
TP Bennett Architects, 3-8a Whitehall Place

Sustainable Development of the Year
Brodie Plant Goddard and Mole Valley District Council, Overlord Court, Surrey
DWP Estates Core Team, JCP rollout programme
GHM Consultancy Group,Welwyn Garden City
Keegans Regeneration,Bellenden Renewal
Midas Homes, Oak Meadow, Livarot Walk

Waste Initiative
Barratt Developments
Bovis Lend Lease
DWP Estates Core Team
Eden Project

Low Energy Building of the Year
BDP, The National Maritime College of Ireland
Buro Happold, Collte Headquarters
Gifford, Carlton House
Rybka/GMW Architects,CIPD Headquarters
University of East Anglia,ZICER Building

Sustainability Leadership Award
Rob McCarthy, Laing O’Rourke
Irene Spinks, Bovis Lend Lease
Dave Hampton, independent ConsultantDavid Hills, Ibstock Brick
Randall Thomas, Max Fordham LLP
David Lloyd Jones, Studio E Architects