Plumbing and M&E contractor Skerritt has appointed David Jones to expand its property care business into Yorkshire


Rick Haythornthwaite has taken over as chairman of Network Rail following the departure of Sir Ian McAllister.

Murray Easton has been appointed chair of the Barrow Vision regeneration programme, part of the North-west Regional Development Agency.


The RIBA has elected six national council members who will serve to 2012: John Assael, Sir Sydney Chapman, Paul Fletcher, Tzena James, Alan Shingler and Peter Stewart. Eight regional council members have also been elected: in the East Midlands, Derek Cottrell and William Smedley; in north-east England, Peter Udall and Dolan Conway; in north-west England, Matt Brook and Simone Ridyard; and in Yorkshire, Ian Collins and Gerard Bareham.

Rider Levett Bucknall’s Rebecca Best has become the first female chair of the RICS’ Greater Manchester construction and quantity surveying professional group.