Feilden Clegg Bradley, Terry Farrell and Robert AM Stern are on list of 10 masterplanners, but not Quinlan Terry

A longlist of 10 architects to design a new masterplan for the Chelsea Barracks site in west London has been unveiled.

It includes big names such as Terry Farrell, Feilden Clegg Bradley and Robert Stern – but excludes mooted contenders Robert Adam and Quinlan Terry.

Project Blue (Guernsey), the joint venture between developers Qatari Diar and the Candy brothers, said a new approach to the £1bn scheme would be taken following the withdrawal of a previous scheme designed by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners.

It has brought on consultant Soundings to co-ordinate a consultation process to ensure the local community's voice is heard.

Richard Rogers' discarded scheme
Richard Rogers' discarded scheme

The masterplanning teams are:

  • Alan Baxter & Associates and Paul Davis & Partners
  • Allies & Morrison and Porphyrios Associates
  • Duany Plater-Zyberk & Company and others
  • Dixon Jones
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Terry Farrell & Partners
  • Hamiltons Architects, Think Place and Patel Taylor
  • Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands and others
  • Squire & Partners and Kim Wilkie Associates
  • Robert AM Stern Architects and others.

A spokesperson for Project Blue (Guernsey) said that the list had been drawn up in consultation with various stakeholders, including the Prince's Foundation.

However, while Poundbury architect Porphyrios Associates is on the longlist, fellow traditionalist architects Robert Adam and Quinlan Terry did not make the list.

Robert Adam said: “We're disappointed not to be on the shortlist, perhaps because there are some who see us purely as architects rather than urban designers. I have a horrible feeling this will go down to a safe, boring right-on sort of architect who has no strong views about anything.”

Adam may still have a chance to design part of Chelsea Barracks, as there are likely to be further appointments to design buildings on the site later in the process. In the meantime, a shortlist of three masterplanners will be revealed in the autumn.