Motion signed by 10 MPs, including from junior minister, rejecting plans to expand airport

Ten back-bench MPs have signed a motion calling for plans for a third runway at Heathrow to be scrapped.

The motion which was signed yesterday is the latest in a line of opposition to the expanding airport, and more proof that the Labourgovernment is facing a revolt over the plans.

Junior minister Ann Keen who represents a west London seat, has already declared her opposition to the development, and more Labour MPs are expected to sign the motion.

The Conservatives and Liberal Democrats are also firmly opposed, triggering doubts as to whether a majority of MPs would back the expansion.

Transport secretary Geoff Hoon is not due to announce his decision until later in the year, but has hinted that he is likely to support the proposed expansion.

The commons motion for calling for the rethink has been tabled by John Grogan, the Labour MP for Selby.