Richard Rogers, the architect of Terminal 5 at Heathrow airport, has been awarded this year's Pritzker prize.

The honour, ofter referred to as the Nobel prize for architecture, will be given to Rogers in June. Previous British winners have been James Stirling (1981), Norman Foster (1999) and Zaha Hadid (2004). The news comes as BAA announced this week that the terminal would open on 27 March next year. It said that 90% of the work was complete.