Thirteen international architects have been shortlisted to draw up a masterplan for the South Bank Centre.

The list includes 10 UK firms, and two Dutch and one Spanish firm, selected from 76 entries.

The shortlisted firms are: Alsop and Störmer (Atlantic); David Chipperfield Architects; Zaha Hadid; Rick Mather Architects; Jeremy Dixon.Edward Jones; Michael Hopkins and Partners; Patel Taylor; MacCormac Jamieson Prichard; Terry Farrell and Partners; EDAW; Mecanoo of Delft, Holland; Rotterdam-based OMF (Rem Koolhaas); and MBM Arquitectos of Barcelona, Spain.

Frank Duffy, chairman of DEGW and author of the brief, said: "What is vital for this project is the calibre of thinking shown by each of the practices at the next stage. We are particularly looking for conceptual, technical, political and logistical problem-solving abilities and the way in which these can be applied to the challenges of the site. At this stage, the planning process is critically important to secure the quality of the end product."

The winner will be announced in the first week of April. The masterplanner will then have three months to draw up a development plan for the arts complex. The masterplan will go out to public consultation in September. Competitions for individual buildings will be held in 2000.