Alison Brooks and Gerard Maccreanor head list of 20 new appointees to Cabe design review panels

Alison Brooks and Gerard Maccreanor, co-winners of last year’s Stirling Prize, are two of twenty new experts appointed to sit on Cabe design review panels.

The pair join directors of practices including Allies & Morrison, Arup, DSDHA and Penoyre & Prasad on the government design body’s national design review panel.

The national panel reviews and offers advice to architects and local authorities on around 350 schemes a year. Of the 20 design experts named today, 16 will join the national panel and four will join the schools panel. Their three-year terms start next month.

Seven of the national design review panel members ended their terms in November last year, including Simon Allford of AHMM, Ian Simpson and Julia Barfield of London Eye architects Marks Barfield.

Alison Brooks Architects and Maccreanor Lavington won the Stirling Prize in 2008 with Feilden Clegg Bradley for the Accordia housing scheme. Keith Bradley, senior partner at Feilden Clegg Bradley, is already on the national panel.

The new members on the national design review panel are:

Alison Brooks – architect and founder of Alison Brooks Architects

Annie Coombs – chartered landscape architect and independent consultant

Catherine Burd – architect and partner of Burd Haward Architects

David Hills – one of the founding directors of DSDHA

Gerard Maccreanor – director at Maccreanor Lavington

Gillian Horn – partner at Penoyre & Prasad

John Pardey – architect and director at John Pardey Architects

Jonathan Ward – associate director at Arup in the Building Sustainability team

Keith Williams – design director at Keith Williams Architects

Marcus Lee – co-founder of FLACQ Architects

Paul Appleton – partner at Allies and Morrison

Simon Hudspith – partner at Panter Hudspith Architects

Stephen Hodder – founder of Hodder Associates

Tim Ronalds – founding director of Tim Ronalds Architects

Tony Edwards – architect, landscape architect and director of PLACE

Peter Clash – architect and director of Clash Associates

The new members on the schools design panel are:

Neil Davidson – partner at J&L Gibbons

Michál Cohen – architect and founding director of Walters and Cohen

Katy Staton – director at Farrer Huxley Associates

Noel Farrer – director at Farrer Huxley Associates