One Irish practice on shortlist of six

University college dublin

O’Donnell & Tuomey, Daniel Libeskind and Diller Scofidio & Renfro have been shortlisted in a competition to masterplan a campus for University College Dublin.

UNStudio, Steven Holl and John Ronan Architects complete the six-strong shortlist.

The six architects were the judges’ unanimous choice from 98 entries received from 28 countries in a two-stage contest for the 24ha campus in the Irish capital.

The shortlist was expanded from the anticipated five to six in recognition of the outstanding response from the international design community, said organiser Malcolm Reading.

The finalists, who will receive honoraria of €40,000, were chosen on the basis of submissions that were scored on relevant experience and team composition.

The design of this new €48m building is required to express the university’s creativity, while the whole Future Campus project is intended to create a stronger physical presence and identity for the institution within Dublin.

Hugh Campbell, Professor of Architecture at University College Dublin, said: “It is unprecedented to have a field of such calibre; with major internationally-renowned figures in architecture on the shortlist.”

The jury includes Campbell; David Adjaye; Ann Beha, principal of Ann Beha Architects; urban planner Joe Berridge; Sean Mulryan, founder and chief executive of Ballymore Group; and Paul Thompson, vice-chancellor of London’s Royal College of Art.

The winner is due to be announced in August.

Shortlist in full

:: Diller Scofidio & Renfro with Sasaki, Scott Tallon Walker Architects, Gross.Max., Atelier Ten, Arup, IN2 Engineering Design Partnership and Linesight

:: John Ronan Architects with Arup, CLUAA, Michael Boucher Landscape Architecture and Transsolar

:: O’Donnell & Tuomey with Allies and Morrison, Arup, Hargreaves Associates, Superposition, Plattenbau Studio, Phil Jones Associates, Max Fordham and MLM Group

:: Steven Holl Architects with Brightspot Strategy, Arup, HarrisonStevens and Transsolar

:: Studio Libeskind with BDP, !melk, NRB and Dcon

:: UNStudio with Arup and REDscape Landscape & Urbanism