Institution of Structural Engineers awards recognises the best international and UK projects

Buro Happold, Arup and Ramboll were among the winners at the Structural Awards held in London on Friday.

The awards, run by the Institution of Structural Engineers, acknowledge the best engineering projects from around the world.

Y.K. Cheng, president of the Institution of Structural Engineers, said the awards had a “high standard of innovative entries”.

Taizhou Bridge over the Yangtse River in Jiangsu Province, China - designed by Jiangsu Provincial Communications Planning and Design Institute alongside Aecom - was presented with the highest award, the Supreme Award for Structural Engineering Excellence, as well as the Award for Highway or Railway Bridge Structures.

The judges said: “This enormous project was an extraordinary achievement, which pushed the frontiers of suspension bridge technology to new heights.

Bridge engineering has just moved forward by a very significant margin.”

Full list of winners

Award for Arts or Entertainment Structures
Gardens by the Bay, Singapore
Atelier One with Meinhardt Infrastructure

Award for Commercial and Retail Structures
China Central Television New HQ Beijing, China
Arup; and the East China Architectural & Design Research Institute

Award for Community or Residential Structures
Bishop Edward King Chapel, Oxfordshire, UK
Price & Myers

Award for Education or Healthcare Structures
University of Exeter Forum, Devon, UK
Buro Happold

Award for Infrastructure or Transportation Structures
Emirates Air Line London, UK
Expedition Engineering; Buro Happold and URS

Award for Pedestrian Bridges
Pembroke College Footbridge, Oxford, UK
Price & Myers

Award for Small Practices
The Feature Stairs for the New Mariinsky Theatre, St Petersburg, Russia
Malishev Wilson Engineers

Award for Small Projects
KREOD Pavilion, London, UK

Award for Sports and Leisure Structures
First Direct Arena, Leeds, UK

Structural Heritage Award
The Cutty Sark, London, UK
Buro Happold

Award for Sustainability
Halley VI Antarctic Research Station, Antarctica