Last week's landmark 10th annual Building Awards lived up to its billing, with highlights ranging from Angus Deayton to a giant Scalextric to a balloon-popping frenzy … But the best bit for many was collecting a coveted gong – so here are the 2004 winners
Construction minister Nigel Griffiths was among a record 1700 guests at the 10th annual Building Awards last week.

The awards, held at Le Méridien Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London, were hosted by Angus Deayton, the former Have I Got News For You presenter who recently starred in the cult comedy series Nighty Night and is set to return to prime-time television with Hell's Kitchen.

Prime minister Tony Blair contributed a foreword to the event programme, in support of CITY – the Construction Industry Trust for Youth – which benefited from the night's charity casino.

Blair said the Building Awards were "the biggest event of its kind in the construction industry's calendar" and praised "the exceptionally high standard of the entries". He added: "It is these high standards that help to ensure the major contribution of your industry to the UK."

Griffiths presented the 2004 Construction Best Practice Award, which was won by Forticrete, the first manufacturer to receive the honour. In a brief address, Griffiths echoed Blair's praise for the entries and stressed his delight at the current strength and vigour of the industry.

Bovis president Sir Frank Lampl presented Sir Michael Latham with only the second lifetime achievement award to have been given in the 10-year history of the event. The award was recognition for Latham's contribution to shaping change in the industry since his seminal report, Constructing the Team, was published 10 years ago.

After the awards, guests were entertained into the early hours with music, a charity casino and a series of boys' toys, from Scalextric to remote-controlled football and a golf simulator.

And the winners are …

  • Chief executive of the year (sponsored by KPMG) Mike Welton
  • Lifetime achievement award (Building) Sir Michael Latham
  • Personality (Speedy Hire) Jon Rouse
  • Major contractor (Skansen Interiors) Kier
  • Major housebuilder (Lafarge UK Services) Taylor Woodrow
  • Architectural practice (Reynaers)  Allies and Morrison
  • Young achiever (CITB-Construction Skills) Duncan McIndoe
  • Construction consultant/surveyor (Hays Montrose) Pentarq
  • Contractor (Kingspan) Midas
  • Project/construction manager (Kawneer UK)  Davis Langdon
  • Specialist contractor (Jewson) Keltbray
  • Client (Schüco International) BBC
  • Housebuilder (Wavin) Countryside Properties
  • Manufacturer (Barbour Index) Schüco
  • PFI/PPP contractor (Saint-Gobain Weber) Skanska
  • Regional housebuilder (British Gypsum) Ward Homes
  • Entrepreneur (Taylor Woodrow)
  • Integrated supply-chain team (Ramesys Construction Services) Mace
  • Sustainability (St George) Ibstock Brick
  • Best practice (The Concrete Centre) Forticrete

Full details of all the winners and runners-up were published in the 10th Annual Building Awards supplement, which accompanied last week's issue of Building.