If you want to be a winner at the industry's most prestigious awards, you've only got one week to get your entry in. Here's a list of the 18 categories, as well as the judges and sponsors who make it possible
The Building Awards, now in their ninth year, are established as the industry's biggest and most prestigious annual event.

The winners will be the contractors, housebuilders, consultants and manufacturers who have achieved the most in the previous year. They will be the firms that can boast the best management techniques, the highest levels of innovation, the most eye-catching projects and the greatest financial success.

There are three new categories this year. An international achievement award to honour outstanding success in exporting UK construction and design expertise, a manufacturer of the year award for the best material producers and a young achiever award for the most talented under-25s.

We have also incorporated Building's successful Entrepreneur of the Year prize – which was first won by United House, the visionary provider of key worker accommodation – into the 2003 awards.

The judges are distinguished clients or leading industry figures and the categories are all sponsored by blue-chip companies (see below).

The 2003 awards will be presented at a gala dinner in the Great Room of London's Le Meridien Grosvenor House Hotel on 8 April. The evening will include a charity casino, sponsored by CMS Cameron McKenna, to raise money for The Prince's Trust, which helps disadvantaged youngsters.

We have extended the deadline for entries by a further week until 29 November to give firms every chance to enter. The entry forms can be downloaded from our website: www.buildingawards.co.uk. Alternatively, you can email dcox@camarguepr.com or call 01242-577277.

Good luck to everyone who enters!

New deadline for entries: 29 November 2002

The judges

Tony Douglas, BAA
(chairman, contracting categories) Hugh Try, Housing Forum
chairman, housebuilding categories) Peter Rogers, Stanhope and chairman of the strategic forum
(chairman, consultants categories) Other judges include:
David Adamson, Cambridge University
Adrian Barrick, Building
Lord Best Joseph, Rowntree Foundation
Richard Clare, EC Harris
Norman Critchlow, Emcor Drake & Scull
Anthony Dunnett, SEEDA
Bob Emerson, Arup
Mike Freshney, Dermot Gleeson, MJ Gleeson
Richard Hall, Faithful & Gould
Wayne Hemingway, Hemingwaydesign
Paul Hyett, RIBA
Benny Kelly, Sir Robert McAlpine
Rudi Klein, SEC Group
Zara Lamont, Construction Clients Confederation
Sir Frank Lampl, Bovis Lend Lease
Sir Michael Latham, CITB
David Morley, David Morley Architects
Kevin Myers, Health and Safety Executive
John Pagano, Canary Wharf
James Pickard, Cartwright Pickard
Struan Robertson, Wates
Jon Rouse, CABE
Jo Smit, Building
John Weir, Bob White, Mace
Geoff Wright, Hammerson

The categories, the sponsors, and last year’s winners

Major contractor of the year (£200m+ turnover)
Sponsored by Marshalls
2002 winner: Carillion Building Contractor of the year (less than £200m turnover)
Sponsored by Kingspan
2002 winner: Galliford Midlands Specialist contractor of the year
2002 winner: Wilson James Construction/project manager of the year
2002 winner: Mace Major housebuilder of the year (2000+ homes)
2002 winner: Barratt Homes Housebuilder of the year (500-2000 homes)
Sponsored by Wavin Plastics
2002 winner: McCarthy & Stone Regional housebuilder of the year (less than 500 homes)
Sponsored by British Gypsum
2002 winner: Hopkins Architectural practice of the year
Sponsored by Lafarge
2002 winner: John McAslan + Partners New: International Achievement Award New: Construction consultant of the year
Sponsored by Hays Montrose Quantity/building surveying practice of the year
Sponsored by Hays Montrose
2002 winner: Faithful & Gould Sustainability award
Sponsored by St George
2002 winner: Peabody Trust New: Young achiever of the year
Sponsored by Construction Industry Training Board New: Manufacturer of the year
Sponsored by Barbour Index Construction client of the year
Sponsored by Schüco International
2002 winner: Manchester council Building entrepreneur of the year
Sponsored by Taylor Woodrow
2001 winner: United House Construction Best Practice Award
Sponsored by the DTI’s Construction Best Practice Programme
2002 winner: Mace Construction personality of the year
Sponsored by Speedy Hire
2002 winner: Ray O’Rourke