Fifty-nine of the industry's leading companies were shortlisted this week for the 2001 Building Awards. Now in their seventh year, the awards honour financial success, excellent management, professionalism, investment and innovation. There are two new awards – for sustainability and e-construction – recognising new challenges facing the industry in the 21st century. All the winners will be announced at a gala dinner at London's Grosvenor House Hotel on 25 April.
  • Major contractor of the year
    (£200m-plus turnover)
    sponsored by Trus Joist

    Bovis Lend Lease
    Kier Group
    Sir Robert McAlpine
    Wates Construction

  • Specialist contractor of the year
    sponsored by

    Drake & Scull Engineering
    Hills Electrical & Mechanical
    Kelsey Roofing Industries
    Shepherd Engineering Services

  • Surveying practice of the year
    sponsored by Hays Montrose

    Davis Langdon & Everest
    Franklin & Andrews
    Turner & Townsend

  • Contractor of the year (£50-200m turnover)
    sponsored by Kingspan Building Products

    Countryside in Partnership
    Thomas Vale Construction
    Try Construction
    YJL Construction

  • Architectural practice of the year
    sponsored by Eternit Building Materials

    Feilden Clegg Bradley Architects
    Marks Barfield Architects
    Richard Rogers Partnership

  • Multidisciplinary practice of the year
    sponsored by Marshalls

    Oscar Faber
    Whitby Bird & Partners
    WSP Group

  • Regional contractor of the year
    (less than £50m turnover)

    Crispin & Borst
    Pearce Retail Services
    Roberts Construction
    Russell Construction

  • Young architectural practice of the year
    sponsored by Lafarge

    Gareth Hoskins Architects
    Haworth Tompkins Architects
    Hudson Featherstone
    Stock Woolstencroft

  • Project/construction manager of the year
    sponsored by Barbour Expert

    Osprey Project Management
    Turner & Townsend

  • Major housebuilder of the year (2000-plus homes)
    sponsored by Marley

    Barratt Developments
    Beazer Group
    Wilcon Homes

  • National and local builders merchant of the year

    EH Smith
    Lawsons (Whetstone)
    Travis Perkins

  • Housebuilder of the year (500-2000 homes)
    sponsored by Wavin

    Laing Homes
    Linden Homes
    St George
    Willmott Dixon Housing

  • E-construction Award
    sponsored by Ernst & Young

    Wates Construction

  • Regional housebuilder of the year (fewer than 500 homes)
    sponsored by British Gypsum

    Countryside Residential
    Rialto Homes
    Ward Homes
    Weston Homes

  • Sustainability Award
    sponsored by Owens Corning

    Bennetts Associates
    Carillion Building Special Projects
    Laing Homes
    St George

  • Construction Best Practice Award
    sponsored by the DETR's Construction Best Practice Programme

    All the shortlisted firms – plus those listed for client of the year – will be considered. The winner will be the firm that has showed the greatest commitment to best practice.

    Your chance to vote for the client and personality of the year.
    Look out in Building next week for the shortlists for the 2001 client of the year and the construction personality of the year. Dedicated phone lines will be set up in the first three weeks of March to allow you to vote for the industry's best and most innovative paymaster, and for the individual who has made the most outstanding personal contribution to construction over the past 12 months.

    Book your table for the gala

    There are still a few tables left at the Building Awards dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel on 25 April. After the ceremony, there will be a charity casino, sponsored by Bovis Lend Lease, which will raise money for construction’s homelessness charity Crash. If you wish to join the 1200-strong audience of industry leaders for construction’s biggest event of the year, please contact Jennifer Clarke at Folio Consultants on 01372-841010.