Partnerships for Schools reveals nominations in 18 categories of education project awards

Partnerships for Schools has revealed the list of shortlisted projects for its annual Building Schools for the Future (BSF) awards.

The shortlist, which is divided into 18 categories, includes three nominations for architect Jestico + Whiles. A full list of shortlisted projects, companies and councils is given below.

The winners will be unveiled at an awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House in London in November.

Tim Byles
Byles: "fantastic designs for new and remodelled schools, and examples of best practice"

Tim Byles, chief executive of Partnerships for Schools, said: “There are some great examples of projects to get pupils actively involved in BSF decision-making across the country, fantastic designs for new and remodelled schools, and examples of best practice to hold up within local authorities and the private sector.

“Our awards will be celebrating all of these achievements and demonstrating how BSF is a catalyst for improving the life chances of millions of young people, creating dynamic public-private partnerships and helping put schools back at the centre of their community.”

The shortlisted projects for the Excellence in BSF Awards 2009 (listed alphabetically by local authority) are:

Best Change Programme

  • Knowsley MBC
  • Southwark Council

Education For All Award

  • Lambeth Council
  • Lancashire County Council for Pendle Vale College and Pendle High School and College

Innovation in Student Engagement

  • Acklam Grange School, Middlesbrough
  • Aura Newcastle
  • Somerset
  • Studio E, Hackney
  • Tameside
  • Carillion, Joseph Rowntree School, York

BSF School of the Year

  • Brislington Enterprise College, Bristol
  • Beaumont Leys, Leicester

Innovation in PE & Sport

  • Lambeth
  • Leicester

Most Versatile Learning Environment

  • New Line Learning Academy, Kent
  • Pudsey Grangefield, Leeds
  • Stanley Park, Sutton
  • Joseph Rowntree School, York

Best Design for a New School

  • City Academy, Hackney – Studio E Architects
  • St Mary Magdalene Academy, Islington – Feilden Clegg Bradley Architects
  • Milton Keynes Academy, Milton Keynes – BDP
  • Big Wood School, Nottingham – Capita Architecture
  • Park Hall School, Solihull

Best Design for a Remodelled School

  • Stoke Newington School, Hackney – Jestico + Whiles
  • Elm Court Special School, Lambeth – JM Architects
  • Hadden Park High School, Nottingham – Capita Architecture
  • Westminster City School, Westminster – Anshen & Allen

Innovation in Sustainability

  • Elm Court Special School, Lambeth – JM Architects
  • Hope Academy, Newton Le Willows – St Helens
  • Park Hall, Solihull – Nicholas Hare Architects
  • Washington School, Sunderland – Space Architecture

Most Inspirational Use of Outdoor Space

  • Stoke Newington School, Hackney – Jestico + Whiles
  • Soar Valley College, Leicester – Architects Design Partnership
  • Milton Keynes Academy, Milton Keynes – BDO
  • Washington School, Sunderland – Space Architecture

Design Adviser of the Year – the Jonathan Ibikunle award

  • Catherine Brownell
  • David Challinor
  • Jestico + Whiles

Community Hub Award

  • Catalyst Lend Lease, Burnley Campus, Lancashire
  • Wates Construction, Lea Manor School, Luton

Buildings Beyond Schools Award

  • Children and Young People's Services' Integrated Centre for Excellence, Luton Borough Council
  • Inspiredpaces STaG LEP, Cleadon Park Primary Care Centre, South Tyneside and Gateshead

Best BSF Academy

  • Longfield Academy, Kent
  • Hope Academy, St Helens
  • Academy 360, Sunderland
  • Wellington Academy, Wiltshire

Local Education Partnership of the Year

  • Leeds Local Education Partnership
  • Newcastle Local Education Partnership
  • Nottingham City BSF
  • Sheffield BSF
  • STaG BSF
  • Westminster BSF

Local Authority of the Year

  • Knowsley
  • Lambeth
  • Southwark
  • Sunderland
  • Tameside

Most Effective ICT Partnering

  • Lambeth/RM
  • Leeds/RM
  • Lewisham/VT4S
  • Sheffield/Civica

Adviser of the Year

  • Bryanston Square
  • Deloitte
  • Mace Group
  • Mott MacDonald
  • Place Group
  • PWC