Building of the year awards for projects including cancer support centre and modern reimagining of an Oxford quad

Heatherwick, LEAP and Alison Brooks Architects are among firms to receive a regional building of the year award from RIBA.

A range of projects, including three university developments, was recognised at a ceremony at RIBA’s London headquarters on Tuesday evening.

Alison Brooks Architects picked up the building of the year award in the South region for its 21st century reimagining of the collegiate quadrangle in its design of Cohen Quadrangle at Exeter College, Oxford.

Evans Vettori Architects’ Lyth Building, part of Nottingham Trent University’s Brackenhurst campus, was named the best in the East Midlands, while the Acanthus Clews Architects’ conversion of former monastic storage rooms at Worcester Cathedral into the new Undercroft Learning Centre saw them recognised in the West Midlands.

In the South-East, Haverstock’s new-build Guildford crematorium was the winner, while Heatherwick was acknowledged for its design for Maggie’s Yorkshire in Leeds.

Cottrell & Vermeulen picked up the award in the East for 36 Storey’s Way, an Arts and Crafts-inspired graduate housing scheme for Churchill College, Cambridge.

London’s building of the year was Sands End Arts and Community Centre by Mæ Architects, a collaborative development comprised of several sustainably-built pavillions in South Park, Fulham.

Shepherds Barn, LEAP’s conversion of an existing barn into a family home in County Durham, was named building of the year in the North-East, while the award for the North-West went to Hodder and Partners for the Welcome Building at RHS Garden Bridgewater.

RIBA Regional Buildings of the Year

East: Cottrell & Vermeulen Architecture

36 Storey’s Way at Churchill College, Cambridge

East Midlands: Evans Vettori Architects

Lyth Building at Nottingham Trent University 

London: Mæ Architects

Sands End Arts and Community Centre, Fulham 

North East: LEAP

Shephard Barn, Co Durham

North West: Hodder and Partners

Welcome Building at RHS Garden Bridgewater, Manchester

South: Alison Brooks Architects

Cohen Quadrangle at Exeter College, Oxford 

South East: Haverstock

Guildford Crematorium 

South West & Wessex: CaSA Architects

Great Brockeridge, Bristol

West Midlands: Acanthus Clews Architects

Undercroft Learning Centre, Worcester Cathedral 

Yorkshire: Heatherwick Studio

Maggie’s Yorkshire, Leeds 

RIBA president Simon Allford said the projects selected for the accolades were “exemplars of the very best of innovative, intelligent and delightful design”.

Earlier this month, a full list of award winners for each region was announced by RIBA. All of these award winners will be considered for the RIBA national award, which will be announced next month.

The shortlist for the coveted RIBA Stirling Prize for best building of the year will then be drawn from the winners of the national award.