RICS chief executive Louis Armstrong topped the bill for the built environment sector in the New Year's honours list as he was made a CBE.
Union Railways (South) managing director Christopher Jago, who is also Network Rail's representative on the Channel Tunnel Rail Link, was also made a CBE for his services to the £5bn project.

The same honour went to Dr Samuel Thorburn, chairman of the Building Standards Advisory Committee, for his services to construction and engineering.

OBEs were awarded to several industry figures including Bett Homes' divisional managing director Alexander Anderson for services to Scotland's construction industry.

National Housing Federation chairman Richard Clark received an OBE for his services to housing in the West Midlands as boss of housing association Prime Focus.

Benjamin Hoppe, chairman of steel engineering firm Rowecord Group, was honoured for his services to steel construction.

Architect Sarah Wigglesworth becomes an MBE for her services to architecture.

A list of our own

Construction this year received precious few accolades in the 2004 New Year’s honours list.

Surely more industry figures deserve recognition for their achievements in delivering an improved built environment for the UK?

In order to rectify this state of affairs, Building is seeking nominations from readers as to who they feel should get a gong. Please email your nominations to Adrian Barrick at abarrick@cmpinformation.com, or fax 020-7560 4080, or text 07786-200117, prefixing your text with “COMMENT”.