The shortlist for the 2007 Building Awards features two new categories - best project and engineering consultant of the year

The majority of the shortlist for the13th annual Building Awards was announced today.

Building Awards winners

Shortlists have been named for 15 categories including the new Building Magazine Project of the Year Award sponsored by Schüco. In this category Arsenal’s Emirates stadium is up against five other contenders including the National Assembly for Wales and The Savill Building in Windsor Park.

The other new category is Engineering Consultancy of the year sponsored by Mace. The quality field in this category features ARUP, Atkins, Buro Happold, Faber Maunsell, White Young Green and WSP Group.

The shortlists announced today are as follows:

Construction consultant/surveyor of the year
Sponsored by Hays Construction & Property

  • Bucknall Austin
  • Cyril Sweett
  • Davis Langdon
  • Faithful Gould
  • Mace
  • Turner & Townsend
Architectural practice of the year
Sponsored by Comar

  • Avanti Architects
  • John McAslan & Partners
  • Levitt Bernstein
  • PCKO Architects
  • PRP
  • Scott Brownrigg
Engineering consultancy of the year
Sponsored by Mace

  • ARUP
  • Atkins
  • Buro Happold
  • Faber Maunsell
  • White Young Green
  • WSP Group
Major contractor of the year
Sponsored by Pinsent Masons

  • HBG UK
  • Kier Group
  • Sir Robert McAlpine
  • Wates Group
Contractor of the year
Sponsored by Kingspan

  • Cowlin Construction
  • Leadbitter Construction
  • Pearce Group
  • RW Armstrong
  • Simons Construction
  • Thomas Vale Construction
Specialist contractor of the year

  • Alumet Systems (UK)
  • Balfour Kilpatrick
  • Expanded Limited
  • Keltbray
  • Prater
  • Yorkon
Major housebuilder of the year
Sponsored by Finnforest

  • Barratt Developments
  • Bellway
  • Berkeley Group
  • David Wilson Homes
  • Miller Construction
  • Taylor Woodrow
Housebuilder of the year
Sponsored by Wavin OSMA
  • Ben Bailey Homes
  • Churchill Retirement Living
  • Countryside Properties
  • Midas Homes
  • Millwood Designer Homes
Major housing project of the year
Sponsored by British Gypsum

  • Assael Architecture - Great Northern Tower, Manchester
  • Barratt Developments - The Galleria in Peckham
  • Berkeley First - The Paragon
  • Lovell - The Way, Beswick
  • St. George South London - Putney Wharf
  • St James North Thames - One SE8
Building magazine project of the year
Sponsored by Schuco

  • City of Edinburgh Council Chambers
  • Terminal/Operations Building farnborough Airport
  • The Savill Building
  • Emirates Stadium
  • National Assembly for Wales
  • Scottish Natural Heritage HQ
PFI/PPP Project of the year
Sponsored by Weber Building Services

  • Atkins - Colchester Garrison
  • Avanti Architects - The Brent Emergency Care and Diagnostic Centre
  • Bovis Lend Lease - Queen's Hospital, Romford
  • Kier Project Investment - Culture Quarter in Oldham
  • RyderHKS - Darlington Education Village
  • Stepnell - Whitecross Hereford new secondary School
Building entrepreneur of the year
Sponsored by Taylor Woodrow

  • 8Build
  • Churchill Retirement Living
  • Dovehouse
  • Malcolm Reading & Associates
  • Villafont Homes
Integrated supply chain of the year
Sponsored by Jewson

  • Birmingham Construction Partnership
  • Bovis Lend Lease
  • Interserve Project Services
  • Logic Homes
  • Mace
  • Vincentstokes
The WRAP Award for sustainable construction

  • 4Delivery
  • Avebury - Delivering Sustainability: Lemon Tree Court
  • Bovis Lend Lease - Bankside 123
  • Crest Nicholson - Reduce Construction Waste As Part of Sustainable Development Strategy
  • Taylor Woodrow - Plasterboard Waste Segregation Programme
  • Wilson James - Consolidation Centre
Manufacturer of the year
Sponsored by DHL Exel Supply Chain

  • Alumet Systems (UK)
  • Billington Structures
  • Corus Bi-Steel
  • Ibstock Brick
  • Kingspan Insulated Panels
  • Paroc Panel System
The shortlist for the Construction Skills Achiever of the year, sponsored by constructionskills, and the Construction Client of the Year, sponsored by Kawneer, will be published in the coming weeks.

Those awards announced on the night are the Chief Executive of the Year sponsored by KPMG, the Construction Personality Award sponsored by Speedy and the Constructing Excellence Award sponsored by Constructing Excellence.

If you would like any further information on the Building Awards, please contact Lucy Bond on 020 7560 4099