After a record number of entries, which projects have made the cut?

Grosvenor House hotel

A host of leading firms and projects have been shortlisted for the Building Awards 2016, after the “industry’s Oscars” received a record number of entries.

Projects shortlisted hail from as far afield as the carnival town of Rio - set to host this summer’s Olympic Games in a park masterplanned by Aecom - to those closer to home such as a Bere:architects-designed staircase at London Bridge station.

Several firms including architect Make, consultant Turner & Townsend, and contractor Mace - which won the major contractor of the year title in 2015 - have chalked up multiple spots on the shortlist this year.

This year’s event will feature the first ever CEOs’ CEO of the Year award, where the industry’s chief executives will nominate their peers over the coming months.


Construction Consultant/Surveyor of the Year (fewer than 100 staff)

Adept Management
AES Sustainability Consultants
BE Design
Core Five
Davies Maguire + Whitby
Edmond Shipway
MAC Construction Consultants
RISE Management Consulting
Walker Sime

Construction Consultant/Surveyor of the Year (100 staff or over)

Pick Everard
Turner & Townsend

Engineering Consultant of the Year

Atelier Ten
Eckersley O’Callaghan
Mott MacDonald
QODA Consulting
WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff

Housebuilder of the Year

Sponsored by AluK

Berkeley Group
Churchill Retirement Living
Crest Nicholson
Larkfleet Homes
Places for People
Redrow Homes

Contractor of the Year (up to £300m)

Sponsored by Kawneer

BW: Workplace Experts
Oakmont Construction
O’Brien Contractors
Pellikaan Construction
Walter Lilly

Major Contractor of the Year (over £300m)

GRAHAM Construction
M+W Group
Wates Group

Specialist Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by Lakesmere

Alumet Systems
Keltbray Group
LSC Group
NG Bailey
O’Brien Contractors

Architectural Practice of the Year

Sponsored by Comar

5plus Architects
Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Assael Architecture
Bennetts Associates
Levitt Bernstein
Make Architects
Ryder Architecture
Scott Brownrigg

Building Magazine Project of the Year

Sponsored by Schueco

Albert Sloman Library and Silberrad Student Centre - Patel Taylor
Borders Railway - Turner & Townsend
Birmingham New Street Station - Mace working in partnership with Network Rail
City of Glasgow College, Riverside Campus - Michael Laird Architects
Crossrail Place - Foster + Partners
Plymouth School of Creative Arts - Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour at UCL - Ian Ritchie Architects
The Francis Crick Institute - Turner & Townsend
The Whitworth, Manchester - ISG
Turnmill - Piercy&Company

Housing Project of the Year

Bacton Low Rise Phase 1 - Karakusevic Carson Architects
Buccleuch House - Levitt Bernstein
Cobalt Place - Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Greenwich Housing - Bell Phillips Architects
Heath Lodge - Autor Architecture
Killynure Green - PDP London
Nottingham One - Levitate
Tadpole Garden Village - Crest Nicholson
The Collective Old Oak - The Collective
The Scene - Hill

Sustainable Project of the Year

5 Broadgate - Make Architects
7 Air Street - AECOM
Bartholomew Barn - Saint-Gobain
GSK Compliance Building, Ware - Simons Group
‘hub’ by Premier Inn Covent Garden - TowerEight
Keynsham Civic Centre - Max Fordham
Land Rover BAR Americas Cup HQ - HGP Architects
Penarth Learning Community: Delivering a 21st Century School - HLM
The Enterprise Centre, UEA - Morgan Sindall
University of Leicester Centre for Medicine - Willmott Dixon

Small Project of the Year (up to £5m)

32 Cleveland Street - Make Architects
Drawing Studio at Arts University Bournemouth - Morgan Sindall
Hitchin Square, LB Tower Hamlets - PRP
Le Petit Fort - Hudson Architects
London Bridge Staircase - bere:architects
Mellor Primary School - Sarah Wigglesworth Architects
Richmond Adult Community College - Duggan Morris Architects
Shaftesbury Theatre / The Theatre of Comedy Company - Bennetts Associates
The Portland Collection - AECOM and Hugh Broughton Architects
Wilton’s Music Hall - Max Fordham

International Project of the Year

Sponsored by Gowling WLG

Buenos Aires Ciudad Casa de Gobierno - Foster + Partners
Daytona Rising - Gleeds
Hong Kong International Airport Midfield Concourse - Mott MacDonald-Arup JV
Parc Olympique Lyonnais - Populous
Rio 2016 Masterplan - AECOM
Sacred Heart of Kericho Cathedral - John McAslan + Partners
Shai Osudoku District Hospital, Ghana - tp bennett
The Stavros Niarchos Foundation Cultural Center - Expedition Engineering

Refurbishment Project of the Year

Academic Wing, Wolfson College - Berman Guedes Stretton Architects
Adams Row EnerPhit - Sturgis Carbon Profiling
Houses of Parliament MEP Upgrade - WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Lews Castle - GRAHAM Construction
Midlands Goods Shed - Bennetts Associates
The David Attenborough Building - Nicholas Hare Architects
The Lighthouse, King’s Cross - Latitude Architects
The Royal Hospital Chelsea - Peregrine Bryant Architecture and Building Conservation
The Whitworth, Manchester - ISG Wilton’s Music Hall - Max Fordham

BIM Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Asite

AHR North East Priority Schools Building Programme - AHR
BIM for Conservation - David Miller Architects
BIM for Construction Clients - Consultancy for the Built Environment
BIMspace - Cullinan Studio
BIM in Operation: dLCC Toolkit - Faithful+Gould
Digital Health Checks - Interserve Construction
Digitising Wharfedale - how BIM has transformed the maintenance regime at this UK hospital - BAM
KT4BIM - Henry Riley
New Ways of Working - Digitising the construction supply chain at Rathbone Square - Lendlease
One Place - HLM

Product Innovation of the Year

Alumasc Water Management Solutions
IG Masonry Support Systems
Keylite Roof Windows
Kingspan Insulated Panels
Monier Redland
The Keystone Group

Building Magazine Woman of the Year

Sponsored by AECOM

Arlene van Bosch - U+I
Carol Stitchman - Network Rail
Dr Vicky Hutchinson - ISG
Jane Richards - WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff
Katie Morrell - Turner & Townsend
Nora Taylor - Arcadis
Raffaella Rospo - WestonWilliamson+Partners
Sarah Drinkwater - Turner & Townsend
Tamsin Tweddell - Max Fordham
Victoria Burrows - ISG

Skills Initiative of the Year

Atkins - Pathways to Engineering
Crest Nicholson - Developing Skills and Future Talent
Curtins - Curtins Academy
HLM - The Academy
Hotchkiss - Hotchkiss Safety Alliance
ISG - ISG’s Northern National Skills Academy for Construction Programme
John Rowan and Partners - Classroom to Chartership Initiative
Specialist Joinery Group - Establishing a world class academy
Wates Group - Building Futures
WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff - The future of structural design

Shortlist coming soon:

Construction Client of the Year | Sponsored by Mott MacDonald

CEOs’ CEO of the Year

Building Magazine Personality of the Year | Sponsored by Hays

Building Awards 2016

This year’s winners will be unveiled at the awards ceremony at Grosvenor House on 8 November 2016.
To book a table, visit