Architects Will Alsop and Wilkinson Eyre head the 11-strong list to produce exemplar designs for the government's £60bn Building Schools for the Future programme
Five teams will provide designs for primary schools, which local education authorities will use as the basis of redeveloping schools in their area. The teams are Building Design Partnership, Cottrell + Vermeulen, Dobson White Boulcott with Sarah Wigglesworth Architects, Marks Barfield and Walters and Cohen.

The five architects for secondary schools are: Alsop, DRMM, Mace with RTKL, Penoyre & Prasad and Wilkinson Eyre. Feilden Clegg Bradley will draw up a design for a school for children from five to 18.

Schools standards minister David Miliband said: "The exemplar designs will not be templates but a vital starting point for schools and local authorities to tailor their plans to the needs of their pupils, school staff and the local community."

In an interview with Building last month, Miliband said: "I always found that I was more inspired to learn at school in new classrooms than dilapidated ones."