Two HS2 MPs received knighthoods


High-flyers involved with major infrastructure projects including HS2 have been honoured in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours List.

MP for Preston Mark Hendrick and MP for The Cotwolds Geoffrey Robert Clifton-Brown - both of whom are on the High Speed Rail Bill Commons Select Committee - were knighted, meaning all six MPs on this committee have now received knighthoods.

The former director general of HS2 Group Dr David Prout was also named a Companion of the Order of the Bath for his services to transport. He filled the role from 7 January 2013 to 22 June 2017 and is the pro-vice-chancellor for planning and resources at Oxford University.

AECOM global long-span and speciality bridges director Robin Sham was awarded a CBE. He has been involved in projects such as Aberfeldy Bridge in Scotland, the Second Severn Crossing between England and Wales and the 1.6km-long Sutong Bridge in China, which was the world’s longest cable-stayed bridge when completed.

Railway expert at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers Clifford Perry was also honoured with an MBE.

A number of people in the housing sector were also honoured for their contributions to the industry.

Josephine Boaden, chief executive of the Northern Housing Consortium in Newcastle, Stephen Howlett, the former chief executive of Peabody, and Andrew Robertson chair of the LAR Housing Trust in Scotland all received CBEs, while House Builders Federation deputy chairman Peter Andrew was honoured with a MBE.

The City of London Corporation’s chief planning officer and development director, Annie Hampson, was awarded the OBE for services to planning in London. The Millennium Bridge and The Gherkin are among the notable projects she has been involved in.

Rhona Quinn, president of the Construction Employers Federation in Northern Ireland, also received an OBE.