Last night's Building Awards 2008 ceremony honours former construction minister

Nick Raynsford, chairman of the Construction Industry Council and a former construction minister, has scooped the title of Personality of the Year at the Building 2008 Awards.

Raynsford recently hit the headlines when he wrote to Gordon Brown complaining that there had been seven construction ministers in as many years. He is also on the parliamentary committee scrutinizing the Housing and Regeneration Bill.

Ian Tyler of Balfour Beatty took the title of Chief Executive of the Year while Mansell scooped the Major Contractor of the Year award.

Other winners included Davis Langdon as Construction Consultant of the Year, Grimshaw as Architectural Practice of the Year and Miller Homes as Major Housebuilder of the Year.

A double winner this year was Byrne Bros, which took Specialist Contractor of the Year and the Best of the Best category.

The rest of the winners were:

  • Verry Construction, Contractor of the Year
  • Atkins, Engineering Consultant of the Year
  • Linden Homes, Housebuilder of the Year
  • Manchester Civil Justice Centre, Building Magazine Project of the Year
  • Berkeley Homes (North East London) - Tabard Square, London, Major Housing Project of the Year
  • Grove Village, PFI/PPP Project of the Year
  • Kingspan, Manufacturer of the Year
  • Viridian Solar, Building Entrepreneur of the Year
  • Bovis Lend Lease, Integrated Supply Chain Team of the Year
  • The Berkeley Group Holdings, The WRAP Award for Sustainable Construction
  • Mace, Project Management Firm
  • Obi Onuora, Hurley Palmer Flatt, Newcomer Award
  • London & Continental Railways, Client of the Year