Fielden Clegg Bradley and Richard Rogers go head to head for sustainability award

The RIBA has revealed five shortlists for its Special Awards.

Green architect Feilden Clegg Bradley is set to go head to head with international architect Richard Rogers Partnership in a battle for the Sustainability Award, while Hopkins and Adjaye/Associates, both on the Stirling Prize shortlist this year, will slug it out for the Inclusivity in Design award.

The shortlists were drawn from the RIBA award-winning buildings announced earlier this year in June.

The shortlist for one other RIBA Special Award, the Manser Medal for the best one-off house or major extension, will be announced on 21 September.

The winner of the Manser Medal and the Stephen Lawrence Prize will be announced on Saturday 14 October at the Roundhouse, London, prior to announcement of the Stirling Prize.

The shortlists for the five awards are as follows:

Stephen Lawrence Prize - the best examples of projects with a construction budget of less than £1m. Winner is announced on 14 October 2006.

  • Broughton Hall Pavilion, Skipton by Hopkins Architects
  • Pinions Barn, Buckinghamshire by Simon Conder Associates
  • The Davies Alpine House, Royal Botanic Garden, Kew, by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Lock-keeper's Graduate Centre, London E1 by Surface Architects
  • Wrap House, London W4 by Alison Brooks Architects
The Crown Estate Conservation Award - successful restoration and/or adaptation of an architecturally significant building. Winner is announced on 28 September 2006.

  • Christ Church Spitalfields, London E1 by Purcell Miller Tritton in association with William Whitfield and Partners
  • Pinions Barn, Buckinghamshire, by Simon Conder Associates
  • Harbour Meadow, West Sussex by Avanti Architects
  • The Egg, Bath by Haworth Tompkins
  • National Gallery London East Wing + Central Portico Phase 1, London WC2 by Dixon Jones Ltd with Purcell Miller Tritton
RIBA Sustainability Award - a building that demonstrates most elegantly and durably the principles of sustainable architecture. Winner is announced on 28 September 2006.

  • ARC, Hull by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff by Richard Rogers Partnership
  • Heelis, The Central Office for The National Trust, Swindon by Feilden Clegg Bradley
  • UCL - The School of Slavonic and East European Studies, London WC1 by Short and Associates
RIBA Inclusive Design Award - inclusivity in building design. Winner is announced on 28 September 2006.
  • Holly Barn, Norfolk by Knox Bhavan Architects
  • Idea Store Whitechapel, London E1 by Adjaye/Associates
  • Evelina Children's Hospital, London SE1 by Hopkins Architects
  • National Gallery London East Wing + Central Portico Phase I, London WC2 by Dixon Jones Ltd. with Purcell Miller Tritton
  • The Egg, Bath by Haworth Tompkins
RIBA Arts Council England Client of the Year – honours the key role that a good client plays in the creation of fine architecture. Winner is announced on 28 September 2006.

  • London for the Institute of Cell and Molecular Science -The Blizard Building by Alsop Design Ltd + Amec Design + Management and the Lock-keeper’s Graduate Centre by Surface Architects
  • Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew for their programme of masterplanning and new building including The Davies Alpine House by Wilkinson Eyre Architects
  • Maggie’s Centres for commissioning a series of high quality buildings including the Maggie’s Highland Cancer Caring Centre, Inverness by Page/Park Architects
  • National Gallery for their programme of works including the recently completed East Wing and Central Portico Phase I by Dixon Jones Ltd with Purcell Miller Tritton.