The winner will be announced at a ceremony at Grosvenor House Hotel on 4 April.

Top to bottom: John McDonough of Carillion, John Dodds of Kier, Stuart Chambers of Pilkington, Allan Murray of Hanson, David Pretty of Barratt and John White of Persimmon are the six finalists for the 2006 Building Awards' Chief Executive of the Year.