Feilden Clegg Bradley praised by Home Builders Federation for ‘high-quality design’

Housebuilders have praised Feilden Clegg Bradley for designing the first housing development to win British architecture’s top prize.

Accordia, designed by FCB with Alison Brooks Architects and Maccreanor Lavington, was awarded the RIBA Stirling prize last weekend. It was built by Kajima for Countryside Properties, although it is now run by Redeham Homes.

Steve Turner, head of external communications for the Home Builders Federation, said: “It reflects the efforts of the industry to deliver high-quality design.”

The last five winners

2008 Feilden Clegg Bradley, Alison Brooks Architects and Maccreanor Lavington: Accordia

2007 David Chipperfield: Museum of Modern Literature

2006 Richard Rogers Partnership: Terminal 4, Barajas airport

2005 RMJM/EMBT: Scottish parliament building

2004 Foster + Partners: 30 St Mary Axe