where construction fits in to the new Whitehall
Whitehall shake-up


Construction’s political bosses
Construction has a new master in the form of the Department for Trade and Industry, led by Patricia Hewitt (right). Industry and energy minister Brian Wilson will be responsible for construction along with civil servant Jonathan Spencer and John Hobson, head of the Construction Directorate at the DETR. The industry will also deal with Douglas Alexander as minister of e-commerce and competitiveness. Other ministers in the DTI are Baroness Symons (trade) and Alan Johnson (employment relations and regions). The DTI’s parliamentary secretaries are Lord Sainsbury, Melanie Johnson and Nigel Griffiths.


Housing, planning, regulations, safety … and the dome
The Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions is a slimmed-down version of the DETR. But the DTLR does retain responsibility for housing, planning, Building Regulations and the Health and Safety Executive. Dome minister Lord Falconer is the housing and planning minister while former construction minister Nick Raynsford remains as local government minister. Stephen Byers (right) will head the DTLR. Environment has gone from the DETR to the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs. Margaret Beckett heads this new department with Michael Meacher retaining his environment portfolio.


Architecture and Wembley
Tessa Jowell (right) takes over from Chris Smith as culture secretary. Sports minister Richard Caborn will oversee the troubled Wembley project. Architecture has been retained under the DCMS. The Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment will be sponsored by the DCMS and the DTLR.