The Theatre Royal Production Centre in Plymouth, designed by Ian Ritchie Architects, featured in this year's American Institute of Architects Excellence in Design Awards.

The other winners were: Edward Cullinan Architects, for the Weald and Downland Gridshell museum in Sussex; Eric Parry Architects for 30 Finsbury Square in London; and Eva Jiricna Architects for the Hotel Josef in Prague. Commendations were given to John McAslan + Partners' Royal Academy of Music in London; Ian Simpson Architects' Urbis in Manchester; Studio Bednarski's Kent Messenger Millennium Bridge in Maidstone; and Nicholas Hare Architects' Chafford Hundred Learning Practice in London.