Projects expected to start on site this autumn

The government has confirmed the first 50 schools in the first wave of its £1bn School Rebuilding programme.

The entire programme is due to deliver 500 rebuilding projects across the next decade.


Source: Shutterstock

The government has announced 50 rebuilding projects and 21 new free schools in the first wave of work

The schools (see below) include primary, secondary and special schools as well as a sixth form college in West Yorkshire, with more than 70% of the schools in the North and Midlands.

The school projects will be made greener in order to help meet the government’s net zero target.

The government has also announced 21 new free schools (see below). Ten of these are opening in some of the country’s most deprived areas, while three are in opportunity areas.

More than £10m will also be invested to support school sports and swimming facilities in England and will be distributed through Sport England.

Project planning for the 50 rebuilds is already advanced following site visits last year, so construction can begin on the first projects from this autumn.

The majority of the first 50 rebuild projects under the programme are expected to be completed within three to five years.

The investment of over £1bn to support the first round of the school rebuilding programme comes on top of the government’s allocation of £1.8bn for school repair and upgrade projects over this coming year.

Further details about the School Rebuilding programme will be set out later this year. Projects will range from replacing or refurbishing individual buildings through to whole school rebuilds.

The government is currently in the process of reprocuring its £7bn school building framework.

School Rebuilding Programme: First 50 schools


King Edward VI Handsworth Wood Girls’ Academy

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

Oak Academy


Sawston Village College


Cardinal Newman Catholic School

Coundon Court

West Coventry Academy


Somerlea Park Junior School

Wilsthorpe School


Ash Hill Academy

Ridgewood School


The King Edmund School


Katharine Lady Berkeley’s School

Thomas Keble School

Hammersmith and Fulham

Fulham Cross Academy


Bay House School


Pinewood School

Kingston Upon Thames

Coombe Boys’ School


Greenhead College


Lytham St Annes High School

Tarleton Academy

Whitworth Community High School


Catherine Infant School


The Castle Rock School


Sandilands Primary School

North Tyneside

Whitley Bay High School


Sutton Bonington Primary School

Yeoman Park Academy


Kingsway Park High School

Littleborough Community Primary School

Newhouse Academy


Deyes High School


Belvidere School

St. Helens

Longton Lane Community Primary School


Wombourne High School


Farringdon Community Academy


Greenshaw High School


St John Vianney School


Minsthorpe Community College, A Specialist Science College


Francis Barber Pupil Referral Unit


Hartshill School

Kineton High School

Southam College

West Sussex

Greenway Academy


The Byrchall High School

Fred Longworth High School

St John Fisher Catholic High School

St Thomas’ CofE Primary School, Leigh


S.Peter’s Collegiate Church of England School


Pershore High School

Waseley Hills High School


New free schools: The full list

Austin Park Primary Academy, Worcestershire

Victoria Academies Trust

Beacon Secondary Academy, Gloucestershire

Cotswold Beacon Academy Trust

Caderton Primary Academy, Oldham

The Harmony Trust Ltd

Chapelfield Primary School, Kent

Chancery Education Trust

Dixons Manchester Academy (Secondary)

Dixons Academies Trust Ltd

Hanwood Park School for Boys, Northamptonshire (Secondary)

Southfield School

Infinity Park Spencer Academy, Derbyshire (Secondary)

The Spencer Academies Trust

Kings Leadership Academy Farnworth, Bolton (Secondary)

The Great Schools Trust

Kings Leadership Walton, Liverpool (Secondary)

The Great Schools Trust

Perranporth Secondary School, Cornwall (Secondary)

Truro & Penwith Academy Trust

Rugeley John Taylor School, Staffordshire (All-through)

John Taylor MAT

SGS Parkfield School, South Gloucestershire (Secondary)

South Gloucestershire and Stroud Academy Trust

Star Leadership Academy Wolverhampton (Secondary)

Star Academies

Star Leadership Bury (Secondary)

Star Academies

The Avenue CofE Primary School, Derbyshire

Derby Diocesan Academy Trust

The Wheatridge Primary School, Gloucestershire

The Crypt School

Trinity Academy Brighouse, Calderdale (Secondary)

Trinity MAT

Unity Romford Primary School, Havering

Unity Schools Partnership

Wisbech Free School, Cambridgeshire (Secondary)

The Brooke Weston Trust

Wootton Park (Hardingstone), Northamptonshire (Secondary)

The Northampton Free School Trust

XP Gateshead (Secondary)

XP School Trust Limited