A round-up of how some of the industry’s key MPs performed in the election

After last night’s landslide victory for the Conservatives, Boris Johnson’s party now holds a 79-seat majority, securing 364 MPs.

Labour lost 59 seats while the Liberal Democrats won just 11 seats. The SNP made gains, winning 48 seats. 

But how did the MPs and candidates connected to the construction sector fare? Here, we look at the vital statistics. 

Robert Jenrick

Secretary of state for housing, communities and local government

Robert Jenrick

Constituency: Newark

Majority: 21,816

Vote share change: +0.6

Esther McVey

Minister of state for housing and planning

Esther McVey at Tory Party conference 2019

Constituency: Tatton

Majority: 17,387

Vote share change: -0.8

Jake Berry

Minister of state for the Northern Powerhouse and local growth

S216 jake berry 960 with grey background

Constituency: Rossendale and Darwen

Majority: 9,522

Vote share change: +5.6

Peter Aldous

Advocate for fair pay in construction, having introduced a private member’s bill on retentions

Peter aldous

Constituency: Waveney

Majority: 18,002

Vote share change: +7.8

Grant Shapps

Secretary of state for transport

Grant Shapps

Constituency: Welwyn Hatfield

Majority: 10,955

Vote share change: +1.6

Nadhim Zahawi

Construction and infrastructure minister (BEIS)

Nadhim Zahawi

Constituency: Stratford-on-Avon

Majority: 19,972

Vote share change: -2.3

Paul Maynard

Department for Transport junior minister. Responsible for Crossrail; Heathrow Expansion; Northern Powerhouse Rail; East West Rail


Constituency: Blackpool North and Cleveleys

Majority: 8,596

Vote share change: +8.2

John Healey

Shadow housing secretary and former housing minister under Gordon Brown

John Healey BW 2019

Constituency: Wentworth and Dearne

Majority: 2,165

Vote share change: -24.7

Emma Dent Coad

Former MP responsible for Grenfell Tower area

Emma Dent Coad

Constituency: Kensington

Lost her majority: -150

Vote share change: -4.3

Rachel Reeves

Chair of the business committee and co-chair of Carillion inquiries

rachel reeves at Carillion inquiry

Constituency: Leeds West

Majority: 10,564

Vote share change: -8.9

Andy McDonald

Shadow secretary of state for transport 


Source: Parliament

Constituency: Middlesbrough

Majority: 8,390

Vote share change: -12.2