Appointment delayed after Javid resignation

Boris Johnson has unveiled his new look cabinet including appointing Christopher Pincher as the 10th housing minister in as many years.

Esther McVey’s sacking was one of the earliest of today’s reshuffle but delays caused by the shock resignation of chancellor Sajid Javid meant her replacement was not confirmed until this evening (Thursday).


Pincher (pictured) was previously a minister in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the deputy chief whip. 

Speaking before news of Pincher’s appointment broke, Félicie Krikler, director at Assael Architecture, said: “There is a total incompatibility between the political cycles and the long-term aspects of housing. Appointing the tenth housing minister in the last 10 years makes a complete mockery of the role.”

Housing secretary Robert Jenrick kept his job, while former chief secretary to the Treasury Rishi Sunak has replaced Javid.

Other key changes include Alok Sharma, who has replaced Andrea Leadsom as business secretary, while George Eustice succeeds Theresa Villiers as environment secretary,

New attorney general Suella Braverman will decide whether evidence from witnesses in the Grenfell Inquiry should be used in future prosecutions.

Current construction minister Nadhim Zahawi took over from Stephenson last August – making him the third person to hold the post in 2019.

Cabinet reshuffle

Alok Sharma - COP 26 minister and business secretary (replaces Andrea Leadsom)

Anne-Marie Trevelyan - International development secretary (replaces Alok Sharma)

Rishi Sunak - Chancellor of the Exchequer (replaces Sajid Javid)

Stephen Barclay - will attend cabinet as chief secretary to the treasury (replaces Rishi Sunak)

Christopher Pincher - Housing minister (replaces Esther McVey)

Oliver Dowden - Culture secretary (replaces Nicky Morgan)

Suella Braverman - will attend cabinet as Attorney General (replaces Geoffrey Cox) 

George Eustice - Environment secretary (replaces Theresa Villiers)

Brandon Lewis - Secretary for Northern Ireland (replaces Julian Smith)

Robert Buckland - Justice secretary (incumbent)

Priti Patel - Home Secretary (incumbent)

Michael Gove - Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and minister for the Cabinet Office (incumbent)

Dominic Raab - Foreign secretary (incumbent)

Matt Hancock - Health secretary (incumbent) 

Liz Truss - International trade secretary (incumbent)

Robert Jenrick - Housing secretary (incumbent)

Gavin WIlliamson - Education secretary (incumbent)

Grant Schapps - Transport secretary (incumbent)

Andrew Stephenson - Transport minister (replaces George Freeman)

Ben Wallace - Defence secretary (incumbent)

Alister Jack - Scottish secretary (incumbent)

Simon Hart - Secretary for Wales (incumbent)

Jacob Rees-Mogg - will attend cabinet as leader of the House of Common (incumbent)

Mark Spencer - will attend cabinet as (chief whip)

Amanda Milling - Minister without portfolio, and a member of the cabinet