Six make shortlist for for post-2012 regeneration of Lower Lea Valley and Olympic Park

The London Development Agency has announced a shortlist for positions on its Olympic legacy masterplan team.

The shortlist of three consortia and three individual practices was chosen from 34 submissions. The winning team will masterplan the regeneration of the Lower Lea Valley and Olympic Park post-2012.

British companies on the shortlist include Allies Morrison, Buro Happold, Faber Maunsell, Arup, Fletcher Priest Architects, Urban Practitioners and Witherford Watson Mann.

Manny Lewis, chief executive of the LDA said: "By working closely with the ODA, the local boroughs and our partners we will ensure the designs complement plans to retain sporting venues and the wider regeneration of the Lower Lea Valley."

The candidates will now undergo a six-week bidding process to persuade LDA and ODA and Design for London of their vision for London’s Olympic legacy.

The shortlisted teams in full are:

  • A 17-strong consortium led by EDAW with Allies Morrison, McDowell + Benedetti, Caruso St John, Haworth Tompkins, Maccreanor Lavington, Panter Hudspith, S333, Vogt, Camlin Lonsdale, Buro Happold, Faber Maunsell, Beyond Green, JMP, PMP, Vision XS and Nick Ritblat.
  • A consortium led by Arup with Fletcher Priest Architects, West 8, RPS, Leaside Regeneration and Dialogue.
  • A consortium led by Urban Practitioners with Maxwan, URS Townshend, L+R consulting.
  • Kees Christiaanse Architects and Planners.
  • Rem Koolhaas’ Office for Metropolitan Architecture.
  • Witherford Watson Mann.