AHMM, Denton Corker Marshall and Allies and Morrison nominated for CABE-sponsored award

A slip road in Sheffield is among the building projects shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Better Public Building Award 2008.

The slip road, designed by Sheffield City Council, was described by competition judges as being “more like a boulevard than a bypass”. A relief road on the A650 won the award in 2004.

Architects including AHMM, McDowell and Benedetti, Sarah Wigglesworth, Allies and Morrison and Denton Corker Marshall also had schemes shortlisted. Two buildings by Haworth Tompkins were nominated.

Two bridges were shortlisted, in Castleford and Cambridge, along with two hospitals, in Brighton and the New Forest. Other shortlisted projects included a DLR station, a coastal protection scheme, and a channel for fish to bypass a weir.

Prime minister Gordon Brown said: “Good design in building matters. It helps to foster civic pride, it fires the imagination, and it's something we're very good at in this country. The public buildings and projects on this year's shortlist are excellent examples of this.”

The Prime Minister’s Better Public Building Award is a category of the British Construction Industry Awards sponsored jointly by CABE and the Office of Government Commerce. Last year’s winner was the Dalby Forest Visitor Centre designed by White Design.

Full shortlist: Prime Minister's Better Public Buildings award

1. Barking Learning Centre, east London

principal designer: Allford Hall Mohaghan Morris

2. Castleford Footbridge, West Yorkshire

principal designer: McDowell and Benedetti

3. Castleford Weir Fish Pass, West Yorkshire

principal designer: Arup

4. Cleveleys coast protection, Lancashire

principal designer: Faber Maunsell

5. Cremorne Riverside Centre, London

principal designer: Sarah Wigglesworth Architects

6. Dartford Creek Frontages Project, Erith, Kent

principal designer: Arup

7. DLR Langdon Park station, London

principal designer: Consarc Consulting Architects

8. Hexham flood alleviation scheme, Northumberland

principal designer: Jacobs

9. Lymington New Forest Hospital, Hampshire

principal designer: Murphy Philipps Architects

10. Manchester Civil Justice Centre

principal designer: Denton Corker Marshall

11. National Theatre Studio, London

principal designer: Haworth Tompkins

12. Newbiggin Bay coast protection scheme, Northumberland

principal designer: Atkins

13. Newlyn Art Gallery, Cornwall

principal designer: MUMA (McInnes Usher McKnight Architects)

14. Riverside Bridge, Cambridge

principal designer: Ramboll Whitbybird

15. Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital, Brighton, East Sussex

principal designer: Building Design Partnership

16. Royal Festival Hall, London

principal designer: Allies and Morrison

17. Royal Hall, Harrogate, North Yorkshire

principal designer: Burrell Foley Fischer

18. St Marylebone CE School Performing Arts Centre, London

principal designer: Gumuchdjian Architects

19. Sheffield inner relief road, South Yorkshire

principal designer: Street Force – Sheffield City Council

20. Shetland Museum and Archives, Lerwick, Shetland, Scotland

principal designer: Building Design Partnership

21. Young Vic, London

principal designer: Haworth Tompkins