The winners of the 2010 Sustainability Awards were unveiled at a ceremony in central London on Tuesday.

Architect Arup Associates triumphed at the awards with a double win, scooping Sustainable Designer of the Year and Sustainable Project of the Year (over £10m) with its Harlequin 1 TV studio for broadcaster BSkyB. The building is the world’s first naturally ventilated TV studio.

Other winners included Skanska, which won Sustainable Contractor of the Year, and developer Citu for Sustainable Refurbishment Project of the Year with its Greenhouse scheme in Leeds.

David Adams, who is a co-director of the Zero Carbon Hub and has just joined contractor Willmott Dixon, won the prestigious Sustainability Leader of the Year title.

The ceremony, which was held at the Royal College of Physicians, was hosted by Countryfile presenter Julia Bradbury and held in association with the UK Green Building Council and in partnership with Arup.

The awards presentation followed a panel debate in which a selection of the judges discussed the big sustainability issues that came up during the judging process.


Sustainability Now, the free-to-attend online conference and exhibition for sustainable professionals starts on Wednesday 8th December. Hear from industry leading speakers and interact with key associations and suppliers from across the built environment. Click here to register now!