Nineteen big-hitters from across the construction industry will guide a 12-month inquiry into improving the built environment


Our 19 Building the Future commissioners


A total of 19 major figures from across the construction industry have signed up to help guide the work of the Building the Future Commission next year.

The final line-up of commissioners (see below) includes figures from the world of contracting, housing development, architecture, policy-making, skills, design, place-making, infrastructure, consultancy and legal.

The panel will help Building develop lines of inquiry and assess potential solutions and radical new ways of thinking as part of the commission - a major project to mark Building’s 180th anniversary in 2023.

The commissioners include Lord Kerslake, former head of the civil service, Katy Dowding, executive vice president at Skanska, Richard Steer, chair of Gleeds, Lara Oyedele, president of the Chartered Institute of Housing, Mark Wild, former boss of Crossrail and chief executive of SGN and Simon Tolson, senior partner at Fenwick Elliott.

The project will kick off in January to look at proposals for change in eight areas:

  • Skills and education
  • Energy and net zero
  • Housing and planning
  • Infrastructure
  • Building safety
  • Project delivery and digital
  • Workplace culture and leadership
  • Creating communities

It will run all year with a report published at the end of 2023.

>> Editor’s view: And now for something completely positive - our Building the Future Commission

>> Click here for more about the project and the commissioners

Building the Future will also undertake a countrywide tour of roundtable discussions with experts around the regions as part of a consultation programme in partnership with the regional arms of industry body Constructing Excellence. It will also set up a young person’s advisory panel.

We will also be setting up an ideas hub and we want to hear your views.

>> Email to get in touch

The Building the Future Commissioners


Tim Balcon, chief executive, Construction Industry Training Board

Clara Bagenal George, associate at Elementa Consulting and Mayor of London design advocate for good growth

Nicholas Boys Smith, founder, Create Streets

Katy Dowding, executive vice president, Skanska

Andy Hill, chief executive, Hill Group

Kay Hughes, design director, HS2

Emma-Jane Houghton, commercial director, New Hospitals Programme

Bob Kerslake, Peabody chair and former head of civil service

Andrew Mellor, partner, PRP

Toby Lloyd, independent housing policy consultant and former No 10 special adviser

Lara Oyedele, president, Chartered Institute of Housing

Rebecca Rees, partner, Trowers & Hamlins

Helen Redfern, chief people officer, Kier

Neal Shasore, head of school and chief executive, London School of Architecture

Richard Steer, chair, Gleeds

Simon Tolson, senior partner, Fenwick Elliott

Martha Tsigkari, senior partner and head of the applied R+D group, Foster + Partners

Mark Wild, chief executive at SGN

Simon Wyatt, sustainability partner at Cundall