18 October 2007

Last night around 500 people attended the prestigious 2007 LABC National Built in Quality Awards at the Grosvenor Hotel on Park Lane, London.

The awards recognised and rewarded the most forward looking people and organisations, and the most innovative construction projects completed over the last year.

The ceremony itself is the highpoint of the year for the LABC, as the National Awards include many entries from a well-established set of regional awards.

Who to contact:

For 2007 sponsorship queries, contact Peter Braham on 020 7560 4073 pbraham@cmpinformation.com.

For 2007 table bookings, contact Eventscene on 020 8755 2640 or email eventscene@aol.com.

For all other enquiries, contact Kellie Torr on 0207 921 8121 or email ktorr@cmpi.biz.

2007 Shortlist

Partnership categories

Best Partnership with a Designer, Architect or Construction Consultant

  • Derby City Council - Derby City Council and MAB Design Ltd

  • EPR Architects - City of Westminster and EPR Architects Ltd *Winner*

  • Flintshire County Council - Blue Green Architects & Engineers and Flintshire County Council

  • Jane Darbyshire & David Kendall Ltd - Jane Derbyshire & David Kendall Ltd and Sunderland Building Control Services

  • NPS Property Consultants Ltd - NPS Property Consultants Ltd and CNC Building Control Consultancy

  • Traves James Architects - Borough of Poole and Traves James Architects

Best Partnership with a Main Contractor

  • Flintshire County Council - David McLean Contractors and Flintshire Building Control

  • GMI Construction Group - Leeds City Council Development Department and GMI Construction Group

  • London Borough of Wandsworth - Wates Construction and London Borough of Wandsworth

  • Lovell Partnerships Ltd - Lovell Partnerships Ltd and CNC Building Control Consultancy

  • Simons Group - Simons Group and City of Lincoln Council *Winner*

  • William Davis Ltd - William Davis Ltd and Derby City Council

Best Partnership with a Client or Housebuilder

  • Flintshire County Council - Flintshire County Council and Q Park

  • London Borough of Wandsworth - London Borough of Wandsworth and George Wimpey

  • Lovell Partnerships Ltd - Lovell Partnerships Ltd and CNC Building Control Consultancy

  • Millwood Homes (Devon) Ltd - Devon Building Control and Millwood Homes (Devon) Ltd

  • Peveril Homes Ltd - Peveril Homes Ltd and Amber Valley Council

  • Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead - Ascot Racecourse and Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead *Winner*

Innovation categories

Best Structural Innovation

  • Project Horizon - Norwich Union Atrium

  • Shorne Wood Country Park Visitor Centre *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Gravesham Borough Council
    Architect: Lee Evans Partnership
    Main Contractor: Buxton Building Contractors
    Engineer: Faber Maunsell

  • Fairmule House, Waterson Street, Hackney

  • Lawn Tennis Association

  • The Trustees of Norfolk & Norwich Heritage Trust

Best Sustainability Innovation

  • Adnams Environmental Distribution Centre *Highly Commended*

  • Local Authority: Waveney District Council
    Architect: Auckett Fitzroy Robinson
    Main Contractor: Haymills

  • South Kilburn "Demonstration Homes" London NW6

  • The Green Building Thorpe Park Leeds

  • Castle Rock High School

  • Cockermouth Eco Centre

  • Whitecross, Hereford High School and Specialist Sports College *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Herefordshire
    Architect: Haverstock Associates
    Main Contractor: Stepnell

Best Fire Engineering Innovation

  • Ascot Racecourse Re-Development *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead
    Architect: HOK Sport Architecture
    Main Contractor: Laing O'Rourke

  • Project Horizon

  • Cardinal Place

  • Dance City Newcastle Upon Tyne

  • Orion Building: OS2 Product

  • London Hotel, Teignmouth

Best Access/Disability Regulations Innovation

  • Treehouse Alnwick Garden Trust *Highly Commended*

  • Local Authority: Alnwick District Council
    Architect: Napper Architects
    Main Contractor: Sir Robert McAlpine

  • DDA works to Baces Carltow Centre

  • New Public Toilets, St Johns Car Park

  • Children's Hospice South West

  • Spencer Gate

  • Dragon Hall: New Designed North Wing *Winner*

  • Local Authority: CNC Building Control Consultancy
    Architect: Lucas Hickman Smith Architects
    Main Contractor: Bluestone

Project categories

Best Commercial Project

  • Project Horizon

  • Queens Arcade' Shopping Centre

  • Cardinal Place *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Westminster City Council
    Architect: EPR Architects
    Main Contractor: Sir Robert McAlpine

  • Emirates Stadium

  • The Brunswick

  • Ascot Racecourse Re-Development

Best Housing or Residential Project (2 or more units)

  • Marsh Lane, Upton

  • Valley Mill, Elland

  • The Stephen Hawking Building, 5 West Road Cambridge *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Cambridge City Council
    Architect: Donald Insall Associates
    Main Contractor: Marriott Construction

  • St John The Baptist Convent Court Project

  • Budenberg Haus Projekte *Highly Commended*

  • Local Authority: Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council
    Architect: Foster and Partner
    Main Contractor: Urban Splash

  • Hicking Building

Best One Off House, Conversion or Extension

  • New House 12 Lansdowne Road *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Cambridge City Council
    Architect: Donald Insall Associates
    Main Contractor: Marriott Construction

  • Cob House, Cadhay Lane

  • Lakeside House, Coed y Gwent, Wentwood

  • "Little Meadows"

  • Tatham Farmhouse , Ruabon, Wrexham

  • The Lodge at Angel Cottage

Best Public/Community Project

  • The University of Derby: Faculty of Arts, Design and Technology

  • Pirelli Stadium, Burton Albion Football Club

  • Blackpool Cardiac Centre

  • Children's Hospice South West *Winner*

  • Local Authority: Exeter City Council
    Architect: LHC Architects
    Main Contractor: Cowlin Construction

  • Norwich Bus Station

  • Refurbishment of Barry Town Hall including library extension

LABC Supreme Awards

Simons Group and City of Lincoln Council for Best Partnership with a main contractor *Winner*



LABC Awards 2007