Balfour Beatty, Clugston, Interserve, and Bam all land new schools contracts

Balfour Beatty has now snared almost one-third of the government’s fast-track academies where a bidder has actually been selected, according to the latest statistics from Partnerships for Schools.

The school-building quango’s latest list of projects with selected bidders details some 30 schools in 22 local authority areas to be allocated a preferred constructor.

Of them, Balfour Beatty has the lion’s share of the work, with nine schools, while BAM Construct and Kier each have three.

A total of 71 fast-track academies will be built under the schools capital programme, announced by education secretary Michael Gove last year as a stop gap between the cancelled £55bn Building Schools for the Future Programme, and the government’s £2bn Priority Schools Building programme, which has been repeatedly delayed.

According to the up-to-date constructors’ list, Balfour Beatty has now bagged South Staffordshire Community Academy, while Interserve has won the Sutton High Academy contract in St Helens.

BAM has been selected for Plymouth’s Marine Academy, and Clugston netted the Cleethorpes Academy in North East Lincolnshire.

Local authority: Academy, Selected Bidder

  • Bolton: Kearsley Academy (BAM)
  • Bournemouth: The Bourne Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Bournemouth: The Bishop of Winchester Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Brighton and Hove: Portslade Aldridge Community Academy (Apollo)
  • Buckinghamshire: The Aylesbury Vale Academy (BAM)
  • Doncaster: Outwood Academy Adwick (Wates)
  • Doncaster: De Warenne Academy (Wates)
  • East Sussex: The Eastbourne Academy (Kier)
  • East Sussex: The St Leonards Academy (Kier)
  • Enfield: Aylward Academy (Carillion)
  • Enfield: Oasis Academy Hadley (Balfour Beatty)
  • Gloucestershire: The Gloucester Academy (Kier)
  • Halton: Ormiston Bollingbroke Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Kent: Knole Academy (Willmott Dixon)
  • Kent: Wilmington Academy (Willmott Dixon)
  • Lambeth: Lambeth Academy (Fenstanton) (Carillion)
  • Lincolnshire: The Priory Ruskin Academy (Shepherd)
  • Lincolnshire: University Academy Holbeach (Shepherd)
  • Liverpool: The De La Salle Academy (Lend Lease)
  • Norfolk: King’s Lynn Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Norfolk: The Thetford Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • North East Lincolnshire: Cleethorpes Academy (Clugston)
  • Plymouth: Marine Academy (BAM)
  • St. Helens: Sutton High Academy (Interserve)
  • Staffordshire: South Staffordshire Community Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Stockton-on-Tees: North Shore Health Academy (Carillion)
  • Suffolk: Felixstowe Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Suffolk: Ipswich Academy (Balfour Beatty)
  • Warwickshire: Nuneaton Academy (Shepherd)
  • Wiltshire: Sarum Academy (Sir Robert McAlpine)